Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Game Jam RGB

by LastResortGames - Jam Entry

You've been split into the three primary colors. For (bad) Science. Make your way through the lab to get to the last room. Your colleagues will be throwing inanimate objects at you. Fight your way through to the end.

Instructions
Arrow Keys/WASD to move
Tab to open Pause Menu
Z and X to swap colors.
Click your attacks when in battle. (Defend doesn't do anything :/)
Earn experience from battle to unlock more skills and raise your stats.

----------------

The Battle background does not match the color indicator (top left). The indicator is final... I think.
Enemies and you have different stats in different colors.
You can see all of your stats and skills by changing colors while in the pause menu.

----------------

We just wanted to make an RPG this time. And we almost succeeded too. I think if he had another full day the game would be a lot more coherent.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#261Humor(Jam)2.70
#501Theme(Jam)2.89
#541Audio(Jam)2.55
#656Innovation(Jam)2.43
#660Graphics(Jam)2.59
#686Mood(Jam)2.24
#733Overall(Jam)2.55
#744Fun(Jam)2.08

Comments

Jvdo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:29am

I liked the setting and I feel like it fits the theme rather well. Like you indicated yourself already, the execution could be better. I feel like it lacks any meaningful decision making which makes RPGs interesting.

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:38am

Good graphics. Bad everything else. Maybe music wasn't really bad.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39am

Otherwise nice, but the battle system is a bit too boring (a common problem in RPGs).

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:47am

Got my ass handed to me by a Potted Plant. 10/10.. also the music was REALLY good, but I felt it was way too low in volume, I had to crank my sound card up.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:53pm

http://i59.tinypic.com/2s6oq39.png

Um.......

Otherwise, it's an interesting concept. It's not intuitive when you're standing on top of a wall in a different color and you can't switch, and the battle system doesn't seem synced up with the rest of the game. (You're always red, even when the game is in green or blue mode.)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Ugh. I thought I got rid of all those. We meant to add in a sound effect or some indicator that you couldn't switch but we didn't get to it (as shown by the fact that every attack is paired with a punching sound.)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:17am

I liked that the characters look like they were drawn with crayon. I don't like that I have to wait to start the battle or "prepare" an attack.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:50pm

You have done some great work, but maybe the game could be more polish if you focus on one of the both concept (puzzle or rpg). The fights are too invasive, I have trouble to grasp their purpose. Anyway, good music and graphics :)

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

Nice graphics, pretty innovative too

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:51am

Cool concept, really liked the idea and could be better if had more time (Like a more challenging battle system). Great job!

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Could have been great with one more day of work. But still fun to play though.

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Great concept, needs to be cleaned up and polished. Would love to see a full version of this.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Great humour! However I clicked defence once and the game crashed. Fix those issues in a more coherent post-compo version!

x1212 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Nice idea to throw in those rpg-elements.

Rustam says ...
Jun 28, 2017 @ 12:01pm

Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I'll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon. Big thanks for the useful info.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]