Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

AirShip Defense

by StabAlarash - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Reclaim the skyland !!!
Maneuver you airship, connect islands, save the world

I used Unity 4.6 Beta so I guess you'll need it to run the web version I'm afraid, executables should be fine though.
You can download Unity 4.6 Beta here: http://unity3d.com/unity/beta/4.6

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#139Audio3.50
#180Graphics3.78
#358Mood3.23
#505Theme3.33
#575Overall3.19
#602Innovation3.10
#765Fun2.81
#871Humor1.81

Comments

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14am

Found it a bit hard to control, but nice music.

mauimauer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05am

Really Really love the clouds. And the mechanic of connecting those worlds by plugging them into the power source is a truly great Idea. Controls are ok given that you're flying a friggin' AirShip ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Couldn't work out how to fire, but cool concept. Music is very stressful! (in a good way). Great graphics

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Perfect music ;) Nice graphic.

MRvanderPants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:43pm

The world was really immersive and the music added a cool sence of drama to the game. The right mouse button causes a pop-up menu to appear in the Unity web player, so I didn't really get a chance to try out the right mouse button

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45pm

nice graphics and music
last explosion sound was little bit loud, controls are hard, but I guess that is kind of the purpose here
btw. no need to install Unity 4.6 beta, looks so far it just works - also in web player settings you should disable context menu on right click if you want to use it in game
overall good work

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Although controlling the airship was a bit hard I found this game really fun. And the audio was very good as well. Brilliant!

StabAlarash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Thanks for the feedback guys.
I just made a quick fix to get rid of the context menu

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Really good graphics and sounds but made me feel a bit seasick with the high mouse sensitivity :D

r0x0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29pm

the linux build, only have the binary, i had to download the windows version, to get the data files

StabAlarash says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:55pm

@rOxOr: that should be fixed by now, thanks

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Pretty, i found the mouse controls really sensitive to use with my touchpad

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Nice game, I love the blimp flying mechanics. It's a bit hard to keep in a straight line, but fun.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Interesting idea and it worked for me! :D The interaction/use controls are a little bit difficult though.

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Beautiful game! Super fun. Love the mood :3

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:21pm

I like how the camera rolls a bit and then straightens back out when turning. It took some thought before I realized I could go back to the same power station to connect the rest of the turrets. I like the clouds. How did you get those to work in Unity? Overall nice job on a fun little battle.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Cool game. Nice graphics. The clouds are awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]