Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Supreme Tower Racing

by jomomomo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Connect towers to advance to the next level in this platform racer. Try and set your best score.

Use cursor keys to move, up arrow or space to jump, Q to reset to the beginning.

I had some trouble with the theme, but I was itching to make a game that include some elements of falling. I hope that those elements shine through and not elements of failing lol.

Used Stencyl, Pixen, Seashore, and Audacity on a Mac and made the audio with Figure app on iOS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#602Audio2.64
#651Fun2.93
#860Humor1.84
#940Overall2.80
#945Innovation2.60
#982Mood2.43
#1011Graphics2.33
#1097Theme2.21

Comments

pinion says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13am

I got 192 seconds.

I enjoyed my adventure with Mr Banana Pants.

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16am

A solid platforming game and the level design was gruelingly tough. I'd love to see a mechanic with the order of which you connect towers.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21am

This wasn't a bad idea, and I liked your use of multiple paths to open up options for scoring players. My score was 258, and I feel as if I could improve that with practice. Unfortunately, a lot of the skill was learning the jump controls, which I found to be rather unwieldy. While the graphics weren't exceptional, I enjoyed the audio environment presented.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34am

I liked this one, fun to play :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48am

Frustrating, but fun :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

A bit glitchy for me, but well done. I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/WU8AB6IzBac

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

This was really fun to play. I was determined to beat it, even though it took me ages. A fun game.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Hi there. Had fun wiring up the pylons. Interesting idea.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I really, really did not enjoy this game. If you're going to make a game that requires precision platforming, you have to have sensible movement. This game's movement is completely baffling. There's friction, but only in midair...? It makes otherwise simple platforming sections much, much more frustrating than they have any right to be.

I do have to give you credit for composing so many tracks for this game, even if I didn't like it that much-- I know how hard it is to construct ten tracks in forty-eight hours.

Finally-- I'm amused because the protagonist looks like Andrew Hussie, and he appears to be connecting Illuminati pyramids.

smizmeal says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:04am

Funny character art! The biggest challenge was of course the sliding. I also like that you included a credits level.

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:09am

Thank you for your entry. It makes fun, but sadly the movements are a bit slidy.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:16am

You shall not make a platformer with imprecise controls.

Too much frustrating to be fun. Graphics and everything is good though.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:00am

not bad overall, the controls were tough to figure out though!

Budaniel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:03am

Nice little game, but the controls were a little slippery.

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:06am

Decent game. Good enough graphics, pretty nice sound (although it cut out for some reason about 3/4 into the game). My least favorite level was the one up at the top of the screen, because the character jumped out of the level and made it impossible to tell where he was. Outside of that I had a decent time playing through.

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:03am

I got 93 seconds on the first try. Nice game. I felt like the controls could be improved a bit, but after the 3rd level I got used to it and it wasn't too hard anymore to control the character.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Liked the way you used the theme and the multiple paths was a nice touch. Did find the level that you start at the top and jump out of screen a bit challenging because you couldn't see what you were doing.

Aaants says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Nice :)

Cool that you managed to get so many levels in

ceosol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

The bgm cut out about half way through. I agree that the jumping was a little bit off, as the forward acceleration was set a little bit too high. Still, I was able to complete it at 185 after a rocky start :)

I think you did a great job of adding something new to the regular platformer mechanic. Very nicely done.

Muush says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

I really liked the level design, although I gave up in the one where there are platforms stacked on top of each other and a fire pit separating you from the triangle thing.

Joror says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice little platformer! Could see some alternative routes on some maps, and the continual timer made me want to be precise, not fast necessarily. Jumping could be a little smoother, especially when jumping to a cube exactly above you.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Sounds are a bit annoying, especially the jumping sound, as you have to hear it over and over. The inertia of the character feels really weird, more so that he is human, so you could expect to have more controls over your movement.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:07pm

306 - there were some pretty tough parts. cool game!

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Classic but nice game. Two issues though: when you land, you loose all your momentum, which is strange, and I first thought the towers were spikes that should be avoided. Making them square would have been better, I think.
The concept of connecting them was good, and would even be better if you added some gameplay elements!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:07am

Nice little fun game. Good job!

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Sometimes I wish I was better at platformers... nice work with this.

Aomeas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I feel like having banana peels under my feet :3
The game is working fine otherwise, the theme justification wasn't so present in the game though.

scriptblocks says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:30am

good music. I had a hard time with the sliding

Moosefly says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Got a time of 238 on my first try. Especially the later levels took a while because of the controls. Also the stage where you were so high that you couldn't see yourself after jumping was pretty awkward. Music (and sound effects?) stopped for me at some point, but what I heard was pretty decent. The connecting mechanic could've used for example numbering someone already mentioned.

Regarding your comment on our game: Sadly we can't give you a web version, but you can follow the newly added instructions in our game's description to play it on operating systems other than Windows.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:15pm

154 seconds! it was a lot of fun to play. Not exactly connecting worlds, but connecting was the theme of the game and very well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]