Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Badland Quest

by Hempuli - Jam Entry

Barely made it!

WASD - move
Space - interact with things
E - drop item
Left mouse - Shoot/Use item
Right mouse - swap items (you can hold two)

Explore, defeat enemies, buy things! There're 2 "boss"-like creatures, find them maybe!!

Music made by Cotton-in-law. Thanks a lot!! Sounds made with SFXR (premade before the jam for another game)

I made an update that fixed a couple large bugs some 45 minutes after the deadline, interpret that as you will when rating.

This game was made using Multimedia Fusion 2 by Clickteam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#9Fun(Jam)4.18
#10Overall(Jam)4.24
#11Mood(Jam)4.25
#57Audio(Jam)3.88
#70Humor(Jam)3.54
#140Innovation(Jam)3.52
#210Graphics(Jam)3.82
#613Theme(Jam)2.52

Comments

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59am

Arrgh! I'm on Mac, but this game looks so awesome - I want to playyyy! What is a .mfa file?

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02am

Wow. I enjoyed this so much. Best submission I played yet! The bike riding and combat was ridiculously fun, you really made this challenging and fun to the max :D

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06am

My favorite game so far.
I loved the open world.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:10am

Thanks!
@mrspeaker: the game was made using Multimedia Fusion 2, and .mfa is its "project" file. I'll add this info to the description, sorry about that!

jwin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:36am

Very cool game! There's a surprising amount of atmosphere in this little world.

Also, riding the motorcycle while fighting off bandits was just plain fun. I'd definitely be interested in seeing more of this world.

waynaul says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46am

Very fun and brutal combat. I laughed out loud when the bandits blew themselves up.

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50am

Wow, this is so great! Openworld and gameplay feel just right. Sound is great and though i personally don't like the colors, the graphics itself convey a great style and mood. Also Timelapse is nice to watch.

Cotton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49pm

You are welcome! Good idea to add in slasher motorbikes, its Sparkle with new colors. The game lived up to my expectations! Art is brilliant in its minimalism. Surreal atmosphere is excellent!

Lol, in this game I can kill a huge sand worm with the sword, not getting off the motorbike! My favorite game on Ludum Dare.

What do you think about post-versions? I'd like more items, enemies, quests, MOTORBIKES and locations. I'll be happy to help with music or maybe pieces of art.

I'll keep an eye on it.

P.S. - in the window of game i can see "Д" letters. Does it mean that you are russian?

Cotton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51pm

http://prntscr.com/4gmuyp

I meant the third and sixth letters.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Naah, they're just a's and o's with dots. :) I'm definitely going to work on a post-game version once I have time. I'll be sure to contact you once I do B)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Graphics/SFX is extremely well done.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Brilliant game, definitely one I would love to see expanded upon. Always amazed how much you get across with so few pixels. Love everything about it, the colours, design, music and atmosphere. Passed way more time then I should have just riding the bike around exploring.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Quite an interesting entry, and I quite enjoyed the audio. Nice job. :)

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Ummm... the best fallout3 since fallout3 I have seen. If there is here one game which i'd like to be expanded, would be this. For sure!

mcapraro says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:54am

i really like the art style, well done

the says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Excellent game, 5/5, i killed worm boss, found the map, found two crosses to dig, got the shovel and finally died in first city when collide with garbage can :( i will never know what was the treasure.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:06pm

I love games with a lot of stuff to do in a lo-fi environment. It even has drivable vehicles! So cool.
The controls were very responsive and everything worked like a toilet on a train. Great game. :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:39am

Good entry, but there were too few of ponds around, the movement was too slow compared to the size of world and enemies encountered, I had to complete the bandits quest before getting a motorbike, but in order to do that I needed to get a gun, but I had only limited ammo in that gun and I couldn't buy ammo anywhere (maybe except for buying gun again). Then I ventured far south, but didn't meet anything, so I got bored and quitted. >.<

Perhaps I just didn't get lucky? O.o"

(Ps. In my game you can hold Shift to move faster)

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

(You can actually just take the motorbike without any consequences (this is silly))

Tosic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Nice game graphics are weird but that is good! :D
But nothing happenned when I died...

Aifryz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Fun game. Music is nice, the atmosphere is great for such a small game. Doesn't really fit with the theme IMHO but whatever, it's a Jam game.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

One of the best games I've played so far. I'm impressed by the sheer amount of content you were able to create within the time given. I count 9 weapons/tools (hammer, shovel, sword, machinegun, shotgun, ray gun, grenade launcher, medkit, map) plus the bike - and you gave me at least 8 distinct enemies to use them on. I liked the bike/foot dynamic - I often found myself switching modes of transportation depending on how I wanted to approach an enemy. Fighting the bandits without a gun, I got three of them bunched together and tried to stream their attacks on foot, but switched to bike charges when I realized that without the bike's speed I was going to get shot to pieces before I could get close enough. I often found myself worried about resources, with the often limited availability of health and ammo. I usually used melee for that reason - at least until I got the ray gun. I'd sometimes get lost in the wasteland, even without a bike once, but the clever limitations on world size meant I never got too far off the path. My main gameplay complaint was a lack of quest feedback. After I cleared out the bandits, the rogue's dialogue did not seem to change, and after I found the dead guy, I couldn't tell his friend what had happened. I also think I would have used a greater variety of weapons and tools if I'd been allowed to carry more. As it was, I found myself ferrying items around from location to location because I couldn't hang on to everything. Still a very enjoyable game, and one I'll remember.

barleyarley says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Might be my favourite submission yet! Very simple but has a lot of character. Great job :)

draxov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Very fleshed out world, felt like a really good quality adventure game, played out interestingly with the enemy attacks and way you can use weapons and vehicles, for a games jam game thats a lot of functionality. I didn't get far in it though as I kept dying, still good though, I'm just a rubbish gamer!

magmaCrab says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Really great! Pretty difficult, the bombs were very hard hitting. However, it feels very polished and it was a fun experience, well done!

rubna says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:50pm

amazing! i loved the mood and the bike felt very novel! seems like a very deep game for it being made in 3 days :O great job hempuli!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Really good work

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Amazing game, I was crushed by the second boss, but I managed to beat the first one. Visuals are really great and the music is even better. An impressive work for just 3 days. A very solid and complete entry.

Rustam says ...
Jun 8, 2017 @ 8:02am

Even with that "use growl" selected I get the CoverSutra notification which is nice but I want uniformity. http://mycanadianpharmacy.ru Drive in reverse, nudge and dodge other rides, or slipstream past your opponents to recharge your boost gauge.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]