Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sabotage Will Set Us Free

by mrbungle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rise up and bankrupt the boss by sabotaging his machines.

This is an HTML5 game which runs in browser. I recommend using Google Chrome.

This game was made in Scirra Construct 2 so the source is the .capx file.

I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#196Graphics3.74
#385Mood3.19
#394Audio2.98
#653Humor2.19
#784Innovation2.85
#880Overall2.88
#1076Theme2.27
#1086Fun2.29

Comments

Sharkxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:04am

Well done but i cant find the connection to the Theme

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

I like the game mechanic, but could be a little more complex. It'd be interesting if more events occurred, or if the two robot things move around in different ways. It would also be good to see progressively more difficult levels. I like your pixel art for the people and the machines.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19am

@Sharkxx Yeah, it's potentially a bit obscure! Basically the game is about how the the worlds of the boss and the workers are connected. Without the cooperation of the workers the boss doesn't make any money. Wealthy people are only wealthy because we let them be.

@sftrabbit All great suggestions, and some of that was originally meant to happen but alas time was not on my side!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:47am

cool concept, gj with the graphics. didn't manage to fix all the machines at once

Inudenis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

I like it! Graphics are great

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:57am

I really liked it. Tho, at first I didn't noticed that machines stopped and was a bit confused. Also, that movement speed... Almost stopped playing when I realized I'll have to go to another side of the room :) But I did it! Lovely art.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59am

I like the graphics, the idea, the wide screen. It took me some time to realize where was the player.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Thanks all for the compliments and feedback

@mess110 I'm pretty sure it's impossible to disable all the machines at once but it doesn't matter anyway. Even if there's some still running his costs mean you'll soon bankrupt the boss anyway!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Really nice art.

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31pm

I really like the graphics and music of the game, they create a good atmosphere, however the game play is repetitive and a little too easy. Averages out as a three from me.

mattr555 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Love the art and the dark mood. Great execution!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Graphics are astonishing. Took me a while to understand what I should do :D

iSamurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

The game is innovative in the concept, and I also enjoy the pixel art and vivid bgm in it. However, the gameplay seems a bit less various.

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35pm

good in innovation but it's not really fun.

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Good concept but could be randomized for extra fun! Enjoyed it! Nice graphics!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Once I figured out how to play, the game was quite easy. I just walked behind the fixing drone from left to right and then back.

I like the atmosphere, maybe it could be improved by turning down the background noise whenever you shut down a machine. And maybe emphasize the difference between the boss's world and yours. Some dripping water or something like that, just too make life feel miserable. :D

Anyways, good job!

panurge says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice work. Lovely clean look and a simple but satisfying mechanic in the service of a strong message. I really liked it.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

HACK THE SYSTEM ah pants, caught. Nice simple pixel art style, the guy moves hilariously slowly :P But the gameplay's simple enough and easy to understand once it gets going.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Awesome graphical style!

Dohan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:00pm

That repair droid is very efficient, damn it!

borgi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Nice graphics! Moody music! But the gameplay a bit too simple :) Well done!

DDFranky says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:28am

Really nice game. I can clearly see the connection to the theme and I have to say that I love it. Really cool graphics and sound design.

gnx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Very stylish graphics and audio in a game that has not a very subtle message :D Gameplay is a bit bland maybe, but the mood makes it worthwhile to experience.

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Nice looking game. I love long format!
gameplay is little simple, not really infiltration, not really action... it could be a part of an adventure game...

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Nice littel game. It makes fun to play. Thank you for your game.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Really liked the gritty mood, graphics remind me of Beneath A Steel Sky Era adventure games.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Nice game but really slow

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]