Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mirror

by lectvs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--- YOU NEED JAVA TO PLAY ---

Not much to say here! The start of an ambient, relaxing puzzle game that has to do with a mirror. Guess you'll have to play it to find out what that means!

Controls:
A/D, Arrow Keys ... Move
W, Up, Space ...... Jump


Tech used:
Java
LWJGL library
Slick, for loading resources
Paint.NET / GraphicsGale for sprite creation
FLStudio 11 for music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Mood4.15
#51Overall3.90
#71Theme3.96
#72Graphics4.11
#129Audio3.54
#184Fun3.54
#308Innovation3.48
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

remmy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52am

I really love the art!
It's a bit sad it got so short, but what you got worked out really well :)
the black with glowy eyes thing let's you think of LIMBO ^^

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29am

pretty cool

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:46am

Loved the vibe off this guy. Would love to play more of it :D

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Rather interesting game. I love the music.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Wow! Everything about this is great. Not only do you have a wonderful mechanic, but the level design was well thought out to get the most out of the mechanic. Art and sound were perfect matches to the mood. Only gripe is length, but it is understandable, considering the great amount of polish.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:38pm

I like this game! You did a nice job setting the mood with the player being a silhouette, the setting being night, and the music. Although the mechanic was common in this jam, I like the way you used it. I especially liked the jumps where both players had to be on the edge, and also the part where you have to kind of have to ascend with the top character. I was disappointed it was so short, but otherwise, it's pretty good! :D

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20am

The graphics are fantastic. The fit the game very well. Fun gameplay as well.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Loved it! You were spot on by calling it ambient-- despite the fact that it's a game, it's got a nice relaxing feel to it. Excellent!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I've seen this "mirror" concept a few times in this ludum dare, but yours was the one that made a better execution.

Fun, hard and with great art. Loved the game.

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Great little game. Love the game mechanic. Visuals and audio are perfect together.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:46am

Amazing graphics and atmosphere! You've used your game mechanics incredibly well.
~funkeh

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:54am

Great entry: smooth, with a great mood and very polished. Also, nice way to end it. Not something you have not seen before, but really well put together: it makes you want for more!

Good job! Looking forward to a post-dare version!

Maek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:55am

Really good game. Very hard

Nisshoku says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:55am

the graphics really set a good mood. tough short well executed. good job!

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:57am

there are games with similar mechanics in the competition, but this is very well executed

simonnaus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:59am

I like how you had some text upside down on the top half of the screen.

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Love this! Among the best I've seen! Brilliant art, mood, gameplay and obviously fitted the theme perfectly. I hope you continue to work on this, would definitely check it out again (please let me know). Well done!:)

gnerkus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Brilliant music. The mood is also very, very nice. You're a talented artist.

Jacic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:48am

Short, but great. Good work. :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:26am

Really slick. Loved the art and mood. Normally I hate these mirror games because it devolves into really hard jump puzzles :) This one almost did, but I got past it and was rewarded with an ending and I felt more than satisfied! Nice job on the game.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:42am

I like your title screen with part of the text reflecting. Nice graphics and mood

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:59am

Awesome innovation. One of the coolest ideas I've seen this Ludum Dare. Great job!

Shivur says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:11am

Good ambiance and idea of puzzles!

malf says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Very polished game , congratulations :D

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:55am

You honestly didn't think you could get MY rating without a tiny bit of effort? Go back and make it web playable. You don't even have to zip anything!

panurge says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Beautiful! You have a knack for taking a simple idea and tightening it to perfection (my LD entry this year actually took a lot of inspiration from 'Coin Rush').

My only criticism is that I wanted more (it does end at the pier, right?) but that's not really much of a criticism...

Art, sound, gameplay - all top-notch! A very atmospheric and enjoyable experience.

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 5:23am

SO VERY CLEVER! Esp. in the use of reflection, and those tricky puzzles! Super nice visuals, only complimented by the moody music! not to even mention how polished it looks :O

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]