Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Fairy-Tale Tale

by neosam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help the mountain climber Tom to find back his way to the surface of the earth. Will he make it alive? It's up to you, my friend!

Basically the gameplay:
You have two characters. You can switch them by pressing Space.
There are two different worlds. Move the characters into the portals to travel between these worlds.
You can create custom portals by pressing Enter. You can only create one custom portal in each world. These custom portals are connected.

Please note that I made many mistakes at the story text ;)

I hope you have fun :)

Additional note, just to name the tools:
* IDE: IntelliJ Idea
* Library: LibGDX
* Graphics: Inkscape
* Animations: Spriter
* Music: autotracker.py
* Leveleditor: Tiled
* Version control: git (source published to github)
* Texture packer (so I have many sprites in one image): TexturePacker

What will follow:
I will improve things like the level drawing algorithms because they are very slow at the moment and I try to create a working web version. When I build the web version at the moment, it only works on Chrome and only for the first levels. Then I get some performance problems :).

Again: Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#19Humor4.06
#121Theme3.85
#272Mood3.33
#307Fun3.35
#416Audio2.93
#536Overall3.23
#588Innovation3.12
#615Graphics3.00

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31am

Funny game :)

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32am

I love the ending !!! It was a bit confusing at first and the portal mechanic could be smoothed a little bit, but overall it was pretty funny to play ! Good story :D

neosam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46am

Thanks :).

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56am

omg, this is incredible. good animations, great story really funny. good job

neosam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:08am

Wow, thank you :)

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31am

I love the dialog!

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Good game and I love the dialogue, very funny. Well done

BitDemon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12am

Fun game, I liked the dialog. Good work.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:46am

Hahahah, these images made my day xD!
5 fun, 5 humor, 5 mood ;D, 5 gfx

akymos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Very funny

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Good story, like the dialogues.

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:05am

That was really fun. Took a bit to understand but I liked it.

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Funny game and quite some challenge. I honestly hated the controls in combination with the hit boxes though (web version), very hard to get through . But anyways, a nice idea and I had a good laugh on the dialogs :)

neosam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Thanks for the input. I deleted the web version now since it is very buggy. Also the sounds have huge delay.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Very fun entry, once I got the hang of mechanics it got somewhat entertaining (I'd like to have a visual difference between custom and built-in portals, though). Also, I liked the dialogue, but the ending was a bit meh, though. ^^"

rjhunter says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:41pm

I didn't have enough patience to finish the game, but I wanted to say: Amazing cutscenes :-)

invader says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Incredible game. Enjoyed the mechanics, cool graphics and really nice soundtrack.

P.S. and great it's java, so people on different platforms can enjoy it :)

neosam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

It's very important for me to support as many platforms as possible. Normally, I'm using Linux so I know how it feels if no one supports your platform.

teamawesome says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:22pm

The portals were a bit confusing at first, and the platformer mechanics could use some polish, but nice idea. Shut up!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]