Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mega Golf

by Jedi - Jam Entry

Controls:
WASD / Arrows - move camera in relation to the ball
Scrollwheel / E/C / PageUp/PageDown - Change camera height
Right Click - free look
Left Click - Place explosive

Despite not finishing (what else is new?), I like this one; I plan to expand it. Though it's unfinished, I think there's enough gameplay to give it a rating.

Thanks!

p.s. I didn't have time to really implement it but the theme inspiration for this game was that each hole would be taking place on a different world.

CREDITS!
Yikes I got a vote before posting these :[

Music:
Carefree
Kevin MacLeod
http://www.incompetech.com

jpsweber
http://opengameart.org/content/golf-ball

wood textures:
http://freestocktextures.com/texture/id/667
http://freestocktextures.com/texture/id/698

feedback:
tacospice
Geti
and others on IRC, whom I've forgotten
-thanks!

Updates: Post-compo, one typo was fixed that prevented multiple playthroughs past the first level, also more buttons were added to change camera height, since not everyone has a scroll wheel.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#108Fun(Jam)3.57
#112Humor(Jam)3.28
#200Innovation(Jam)3.39
#465Audio(Jam)2.83
#504Overall(Jam)3.03
#642Mood(Jam)2.50
#691Graphics(Jam)2.46
#695Theme(Jam)2.17

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45am

Hi there. Nice idea explosives on golf courses... Ball seems to take too long to come to a halt, can't (ahem) aim again until it does - but that's just me being picky. Good job.

dylanigan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19pm

I liked it, maybe a Par system would have added to the experience though.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:51am

Aha golfing with dynamite, always wanted to do that. Nice!

voxel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:58pm

The best use of the theme; not tenuous at all. Would have liked more holes, but isn't that always the case

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice idea, reminds me quite a bit of my own LD28 entry, although your idea is more developed.
Not sure what it has to do with the theme though...

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:24am

Was a good idea, but it looks very rushed. -Flurkin

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:17am

LOL using dynamite to golf... I want to do this in real life, but I feel it probably won't work the same... Interesting concept.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:23am

I really loved the way you move the ball.

Could give a goal or par for each level. There didn't seem to be much risk of losing, although that was perfect for the first level.

More terrain textures/decorations would be great. Maybe have some terrain used more interesting ways ie hills etc in a way that strongly influences gameplay.

The negative/ran out of money sfx was too painful to the ear.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Crazy.
A nice idea that deserves further expansion!

Maybe you could add some form of resource system, where along with exploding the ball, you'd also be potentially mining for resources? And then you'd use those to craft new stuff instead of buying it outright.

That way, you could for example imagine the player sacrificing 2 extra strokes to get the ball slightly out of the way, in order to reach a valuable material source, and then from there blowing it up while also getting the ball towards the goal. For this to make sense you'd also need to limit the radius around the ball where explosives can be placed.

This could lead to speedruns where optimal paths between holes and resource points and what to spend those points on are found, stuff like that.

WetDesertRock says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Needs bigger explosions.

I like it, the sound effects didn't really fit. Wish you could've fleshed this out more.

Big fan of the concept by the way.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:06am

Don't be lazy! See below.
Unity -
http://www.magiccarpenters.com/jams/ld30/Oonity_Webplayer_(Not_4_Chrome)/
Linux -
http://www.magiccarpenters.com/jams/ld30/Mega%20Golf%20LinuxUni.tar.gz
MacOSX -
http://www.magiccarpenters.com/jams/ld30/Mega_Golf_MacOSX.app.zip
Windows -
http://www.magiccarpenters.com/jams/ld30/Mega_Golf_Windows.zip

Regarding your game, I really liked the humourous tone and how the tactical nuke blew my balls (pun intended). Great job!

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:07am

Cool and complete game! I would have liked to see some more difficult maps. The music was very fitting.

brogrammers says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

loved it : D

Benjamin says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Yeah !! We want more maps !

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Golf with TNT! Fun!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:50pm

This is awesome, I wish I could golf with explosives in real life.

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:03am

Golfing + explosives is a pretty cool/fun idea. It would have been really nice if there were obstacles or terrain that could get blown up too, since the game is pretty simple as it is right now. But that's all the more reason for me to be glad you plan on expanding on this!

Shivur says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:42am

Good idea!

ClownAround says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:54am

Awesome game!. Graphics were great. Was a blast to play.

jerombd says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:00pm

The controls are great, and the idea of dynamite/TNT blasting golf ball could even be funnier if the whole has more context - I don't see the link with the gamejam theme here :/

cardboard says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:02am

This game has a nice peaceful aesthetic. I wish Mr. Gravity would be a bit quicker to pull the ball down and hold it still for me, but I still rather enjoyed the few rounds of pro mega golf that I played. The cows are nice, the music fits the game, and I would enjoy an expansion of this if you get around to making one.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]