Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

I've Got the World On a String

by kirbytails7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Connect planets together with a rope! Because...uh...

It's a top-down shooter without shooting. The idea came from the first game I ever tried (and failed horribly) to make.

Made in C# with Unity (you'll need the web player) and Visual Studio, with Garageband/sfxr/Audacity for audio and Paint.NET for art.

WASD or arrows to move. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#197Audio3.36
#463Humor2.47
#498Theme3.34
#578Fun3.02
#690Mood2.83
#709Overall3.06
#741Innovation2.91
#757Graphics2.79

Comments

dusho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

really hard if you want to get points.. I ended up with -1 lives :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23am

I was certain I fixed the -1 lives thing. Whoops. =) Must've been more sleepy than I thought at the end.

arbiccdheife says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45am

Very cool game. Pretty simple to get the hang of and enough challenge to keep it interesting. I personally think the bosses should be a little harder but that's just preference..great entry.

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Great work, i like it! :)

idovingx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:31pm

pretty charming actually!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Died just before the fourth boss with a score of 25.5k or something. The setting is really unique, and it masks the mundane task of basically picking up items as you trying to string together a bunch of planets to form a galaxy. I find that really nice. The mood was also really nice, although the random red scribbles were kinda out of place.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Yay! Score: 011507 :D
I like this game, it is very simple and very entertaining.
You should work on the audio and the graphics (also a story would be great), but besides that, it is a cool lil game :)

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:58pm

quite relaxing, really digging the music :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Good job. Simple and relaxing game ^^

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:35am

Thanks!

@KrisDevelopment: I feel like any attempt at story, though, has to overcome the whole drilling-through-entire-planets thing, or I suppose it could be silly like Katamari...

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Really challenging and interesting game! On my second try I got up to level 3 and died :( Would be nice to have a way to restart the game after you lose.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Nice game! The music is really good, I only think that boss "fights" should have a more tense music, but the main music is great, as well as the sfx. The graphics are well made, but the "void" thing is out of place.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:19am

@jackyjjc - Yeah, I ran out of time for menus and since I expected to anyway, I didn't put them in initially.
@Chaoseiro - Thanks. I did do a boss theme, but it wasn't any good. And what "void" thing?

Sunflower says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:47am

Interesting game, though gameplay wasn't very exciting to me (especially the two bosses I encountered seemed rather... slow? And they were waiting quite long between attacks? I guess I wouldn't mind if the game didn't have these bosses at all...). Audiovisuals were alright, though I didn't like sound effect of stringing the world (it sounded like I did something wrong) and the music instruments were somewhat... screechy? ^^"

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:48am

@Sunflower - Thanks for the honest feedback! I was concerned with the pacing of the game being to quick, since several of my previous games have been seen as rather hard, so I thought to ease into it a bit more. I think it would've been more effective if I had introduced a second boss sooner, personally, but I didn't have time for a fourth boss (and hardly for a third) and wanted to keep some content. And yes, the instruments are a little "bit-crushed" for effect.

Dry Tree says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Nice game and great audio, I felt the boss fights were boring as there was nothing to do other than wait it out (unless I missed something?!) ... at first I tried 'lassoing' the boss but that didn't do anything. Good game overall though :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:43am

GALAXY COMPLETE! Nice game, I had fun playing it. Well done!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:52am

Cool, I like the idea of threading worlds together. The music did a lot to contribute, but there was this really annoying piano sound--it sounded like a sample rate conversion gone horribly wrong, I could hear tons of aliasing. Maybe some kind of bitcrusher effect?

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:00am

@Dietrich Epp - Yes, the bitcrusher effect was intentional.

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Nice idea, it was refreshing to play a "shmup" where you don't actually have to shoot anything. Very peaceful :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]