Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Closure

by AdamHarte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Strange portals have started to appear throughout the land. Wipe out the creatures inside every portal before there are any more casualties.

I used Haxe on OpenFL and HaxeFlixel, Pyxel for graphics, Tiled for the levels, and Bfxr for sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#126Graphics3.93
#218Fun3.49
#296Mood3.30
#308Overall3.46
#515Audio2.77
#587Humor2.27
#897Theme2.70
#973Innovation2.54

Comments

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05am

Very nice art and smooth controls

01010111 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:38pm

I really loved the way the level design mixed with the enemy AI to create some pretty cinematic moments! Especially the enemies dropping from the ceiling in lvl4 :D

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Nice effects.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:27pm

very nice art, the AI could be better adjusted to the levels or the levels could be better adjusted to the AI.

Pavel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17am

Nice art and character animation.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40am

Excellent overall. Enjoyed a nice simple platformer with world map.

LuisDC says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:42am

Very good game. Cool graphics and good AI, very aggressive :D The controls are alse really good.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:31am

Nice graphics, the gameplay was a bit repetitive and laggy, but still enjoyable. Good job! :)

aeveis says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Overall good controls, some interesting cave design with the small creatures coming up behind you.

tbam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Solid game, controls worked well :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Love the pixel art, the creatures reminds me of the nostalgic game "Another World".

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:37am

Loved the monster designs and effects. Really wish I could duck, though.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

Nice platformer, i enjoyed it.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:06am

Very nice colour scheme and animation. Mechanics work pretty well. Great entry dude :)

dustyroom says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:03am

Great game. I'd wish there were a few power-ups. Well done graphics.

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:35pm

May be an odd thing to focus on, but that run and jump animation was awesome - totally made the game for me :)

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:39am

Really cool graphics and animation. I loved the map screen. Gotta love haxeflixel!

TKia_ says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Smooth gameplay, pretty art. A very, very polished game, especially for the Dare. Pat yourself on the back, I wish I knew how to pull stuff like this off.

stvr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Pretty fun combat and platforming, a bit "floaty" but solid overall! Nice work!

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Solid shooter with nice art. I stopped playing at level 7 or 8 because some creature was out of reach and I didn't find a way to reset the level, but I was having fun.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:27am

Pretty nice and good-looking, though the difficulty difference between levels seems pretty steep based on which enemies that shoot bombs are present.

AdamHarte says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:44am

This is some amazing feedback. Thanks to everyone who voted and commented! The Ludum Dare community is great to be part of :D

Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:52am

Love the art and animations. Good job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:54am

I really liked how you used a map and the graphics were really good. However it got repetitive fast, but maybe that is because I do not appreciate this genre that much. Great game overall. Good job!

Jaloko says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 6:40am

Loved the sounds and animations.

skiddings says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:29am

Lovely art and animations. But I did feel a bit mean mowing down the pretty animated creatures. Great work for 48hrs!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Great graphics! I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3RN80xyak-c

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]