Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bumper Planets

by Altourus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click on a planet to put up a sheild to prevent the Solar system wide civil war from destroying a planet.

Technologies used:

Visual Studio 2012
Javascript
Jquery
Raphael.js (SVG library for javascript)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#602Innovation3.10
#778Fun2.80
#886Humor1.76
#948Theme2.60
#964Overall2.78
#990Mood2.42
#994Audio1.44
#1120Graphics2.10

Comments

reaver says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Pretty cool! A little hard on a laptop trackpad :P

Altourus says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Thanks. yea it was rough on a phone too. The planets were so small :)

Inateno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:22am

Nice ! I love the concept. I think you should do bigger planet, and add few lives.

siat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:38am

Nice use of physics engine.

Altourus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05am

Unfortunately I didn't have a physics engine, which is why I got as little done as I did. :(

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:44am

Really simple, easy to play and get the hang of, mechanic. Wish there was some more meat to it (sound, menus), but I like the gameplay.

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41am

I like the revolve idea but i find it a bit dizzying, but still cool!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43am

Ahh, hectic! fun idea and conecept :) I liked it, how an unplanned planet can come into the way of a missile ^^

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:53am

Cool. Really hard to click, but it is an interesting balance between being good at clicking and being good at predicting where the missile is going. A score tracker would be a nice adition! :) Congrats!

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:05am

Neat game! Loved it! :D

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37am

The mechanic is solid, even though it's a pretty simple prototype, it shows promise.

Wertle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37am

I think this game could polish up really nicely and you should totally keep working on it. The mechanic is simple but got me thinking in a way that I was not used to with interpreting the arcs and paying attention to the overall rotation. Some sound and feedback could make this really great, and I think it would be well suited to different platforms (touch, etc). Nice job!

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

Nice and simple idea. It sometimes doesn't react on my clicks though. Also the Missiles can go trough other planets when they targeted a planet behind it, so I shielded the wrong one.

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Nice idea. Pretty difficult to click so accurately.
Game over popup could've been drawn ingame instead.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Fun idea if a bit simple. Hard to keep track of where some of the missiles are going. They would fly right thru a planet just to hit one right after it and kill me :/

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54am

A nice solid concept, good job! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42pm

2851, whoa this was tricky, took me a moment to realize the white circle was a shield. Simple and solid game.

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Like the idea, haven't seen one like this. Easy to get the hang of the trajectory, but the addition of extra missiles compensates for it quite well.

dcampos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24pm

I like the concept, which has great potential for improvement. It is good to see simple games here, with simple controls; that makes it easier to start playing.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06pm

1841! I love the concept and it would be great with a few tweaks. Hitting the planets is a bit fiddly, and it's going to get hard to hit them in time.

Would like to see a touch version of this for Android! :)

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Good and simple idea. However I had difficulty clicking on planets and the game lagged a little on my browser.

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Needs some polishing or it just bugs on my Chrome 36 :/
Anyway, an interesting concept.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Nice job!

It's a bit too hard, to me. Hard to tell which planet is being aimed at if there are more than one in the path of the missle. Also, as someone else noted, it's a bit hard to keep up with the planets on a trackpad, maybe they could slow just a bit.

It might be easier to tell where the missiles were headed if they moved in a straight line - that is, if they targeted where the planet is going to be after a certain distance, rather than where it is now (in real life it'd be done this way, as it saves on fuel ;) )... but I suppose that requires a bit of math.

fil00dl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:02pm

score 692.
stressful and interesting gameplay :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Fun game! lacking audio though! good job!

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Cool idea! I dig the planetary defines aspect and trying to work out which that genocidal missile is heading for was challenging, really like the way the tension builds as it homes in. Struggled to click em on a trackpad though ;)

kikito says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

The game was not very polished (you can "reactivate the planets" after losing by clicking on them xD) but it was fun.

ehtd says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:54am

Hard game, but quite entertaining

teamawesome says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Really original idea, and quite fun to play. Nice one

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]