Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hide!

by nataku92 - Jam Entry

[CONTROLS]
Left/Right Arrow Keys - move
Space - jump
Left Control - crouch

[ABOUT]
"One day you, a young ninja-in-training, are suddenly sucked into a rip in the time-space continuum! Now you are far in the future, where everyone is a killer robot! You must find your way home, but tread carefully and AVOID BEING SPOTTED!"

'Hide!' is a simple 2d stealth platformer with only a single level. We were planning to add a lot more, but this was our first Ludum Dare and we were completely unprepared. At least we got something submitted though :)

[CREDITS]
Made by: Kevin Chen, Isaac Kim, Michael Hwang
Tools/Libraries: Unity, Tiled, Tiled2Unity, Photoshop
External Assets:
tileset - http://opengameart.org/content/sci-fi-platform-tiles
sfx - http://opengameart.org/content/50-rpg-sound-effects
music - http://opengameart.org/content/puzzle-tune-1
font - http://www.dafont.com/vcr-osd-mono.font

[NOTES]
-We made a couple of tiny fixes for issues that was making the game unintentionally difficult (specifically, we lowered the speed of one of the cameras and moved one of the lights).

-We've uploaded a playthrough video. Please check it out if you're getting stuck or just want to see the full level without the pain :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#257Fun(Jam)3.25
#276Audio(Jam)3.31
#289Graphics(Jam)3.59
#302Mood(Jam)3.24
#448Humor(Jam)2.26
#505Innovation(Jam)2.81
#745Theme(Jam)1.81
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:20am

a linux build, please?

Rahazan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:39am

Awesome game. I love the graphics, the music is great too (although very loud). It is very unforgiving, which makes it pretty hard.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:40am

The gameplay and graphics and music are very cool. Only the difficulty is, I think to high

CoopNasty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:44am

The controls were incredibly frustrating. When I try to run ad crouch under small obstacles I often would get stuck and permadeath back to the beginning. Could definitely use a checkpoint system of some kind.

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04am

The light concept is so good!
It's a little hard to not be spotted.

nataku92 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24am

Thanks for the comments everyone! Difficulty was definitely higher than we intended it to be (I guess we got pretty good at our game after testing it so much..)

@r0x0r
Added a link to the linux port. I haven't been able to test this yet; let me know if you have any issues.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40am

Amazing! Loved the gameplay but it's quite quite hard (the timing is very tight) good work!

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30am

Yup, difficulty is way too high.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:11pm

This is way too hard but I like the idea. It feels good and looks good.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Hi there. Great looking game, too difficult for my crappy reactions but it sounds and looks great!

Phaix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:55am

Nice game! It maybe a bit difficult, but made fun to play.

Demorro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44am

A really smartly designed and solidly implemented platformer, a pleasant surprise. You just fell for the difficulty trap, which is bound to happen when we don't have time to playtest. Great job mate.

Objelisks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:46am

Seems like you got a lot done, but could have used some more playtesting. Maybe allow the player to stand in the light for ~500ms before they actually get caught to make it easier.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:54am

Great work on the graphics and art!

The game itself seems VERY difficult however. Even the first two light beams are easy to screw up, and with the slightest mistake instantly resetting the whole level (instead of a checkpoint, or a "thread level" meter), it is sadly hard to see all the cool stuff in your level.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:21am

Ninjas & Future Robots!? How could I not like this game!? :D Really challenging, great gameplay and level design also!! :D

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Why does everyone have to make their games so extremely difficult, even at the very beginning?

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:42am

This is a great game. Lots of features, nice art. The difficulty, I think, is fine - it just needs a checkpoint system.

pusheax says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Hard but fun to play.

sephyka says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Wow, it is very very very difficult. x'D
I love the ninja character, the mood and I love the gameplay idea. Exactly the kind of game I like. I'm a bit frustrating because it is so difficult at the beginning. It might be great with a lower difficulty and more checkpoints!

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Really nice game! I liked the old-school type of difficulty where you had to progressively get better and better at learning a level, and the graphics and music were well done.

Saphyre says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Very nice !! I love this old school feeling and your gameplay is cool ! WALL JUMP <3

whalebot says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I tried to make a game similar to this a while back. You managed to do it for a ludum dare entry... sigh... -_- Nice work! Although, I really didn't see any connection with the theme other than the short blurb in the description...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]