Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Galactic Trader

by JoeDev_net - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle game where you must connect all the worlds in such a way that you don't run out of resources. Made with XNA + C#. It's a somewhat complicated game and I might not have explained it well in the application so I will write about the rules here.

-The goal of each level is to connect all the planets together. This doesn't mean that all connections have to be made, but just that all planets have to have at least one connection to the rest of the planets.

-A turn consists of either adding a new connection or destroying an existing connection

-Each level has a maximum number of turns allowed

-After every turn, for every connection the two planets resources are added or subtracted from your resources. This means that if a planet has 2 connections to it, then it's resources are contributed twice.

-If you don't have enough resources at the end of a turn to supply all the active connections, then you lose and must start the level over.

It sounds complicated and it kinda is, but once you get the hang of it, it's not that bad.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Theme4.00
#124Fun3.65
#143Innovation3.78
#175Overall3.63
#403Graphics3.33
#776Mood2.74
#854Humor1.87
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Might be my computer, but I am unable to get this to play.

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Game doesn't work

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:34pm

It's good to see another XNA game on here! Anyone struggling to run this may need to install the .NET and/or XNA frameworks
.NET 4:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
XNA 4:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

I like the game, the puzzles are interesting and pretty difficult at times. Good job!

Frugle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Very hard but awesome concept!

MrTambourine says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Very clever game. I really like logic games and this is fairly new concept I think. Simple and amusing! GJ!

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Great puzzle game. Really like the clean art style. I would like to skip a level I'm stuck on.

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Sorry it anyone has been unable to get it to work, I forgot to mention the XNA and .NET requirements.

@Headmade - Yeah, I should probably add a method to skip a level, as some of them are pretty difficult.

Also, I'm hoping to have a web build at some point using JSIL.

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Very good 48h game. I liked the gameplay very much.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Very good puzzle game; the concept itself was indeed rather complicated, but the game did pretty good job explaining it basics, and I eventually completed all levels. Yay~!

One of the most innovative games out there, I think, and makes for interesting puzzles, too!

X-0r says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Cool puzzle game! I was a bit scared about the warning that it's hard to play. The only really hard thing was the tactical DEconnection at the correct time.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Nice puzzle, enjoyed it wery much. Love the minimalistic graphic style and the gameplay is well designed ^^

I had to install xna, maybe there is a way to package it with the project ? I have no experience with xna but would be nice if possible :) To investigate for next time.

congratz :)

Lvyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:15pm

PS. wish there were sound, but the game is great ;)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Nice puzzles dude!! wish i didnt suck at them lol

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Better best puzzle game of the compo. It's really awesome to see some graph based games. The graphics are really polished, especially the transitions/animations. Would be even better with some music. Fits the theme. Makes me want to write code that will automatically solve the levels, which is a big plus in my book. :)

strong99 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:01am

Very nice puzzles. Good tutorial. And good feedback on what I do while playing.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:15am

Brilliant! It's a neat, polished game! Great idea and great implementation. And I disagree with you: you made a good ingame tutorial and it explains everything.
Also loved message animations!
Great job!

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Nice entry.

ashdnazg says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Very nice puzzles, had me thinking and calculating (which is good).
Some sound effects and music would have contributed a lot. Just using recorded effects or ones generated by bfxr etc. can improve any silent game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]