Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chained Together

by Corné Dorrestijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Description from game:

========
In an universe far from here there once were two planets bound to each other by a mysterious spell. One day a powerfull wizard challenged two people from both planets to play a game with each other. The world of the lozer would be destoryed, and the world of the winner would be released of the mysterious binding. Today you are playing to a creature from the other planet.

You get 3 coins to peak at an opponent's card, use them wisely.

Good luck.
========

Made using Polymer and Animation API, works best in Chrome 36, does work in Firefox, but a bit slower/more glitchy.

Short description of the gameplay:

There is a deck with 46 cards, some cards are more rare than others. At the start each player gets 4 cards. Every turn a player chooses a card, the opponent has to open the same card. A card has certain actions like, dealing 5 damage. That action is than executed. Each player has 20 health points, the player that loses all the 20 health points or if there are no more cards left, has the least health points loses the game. Hover over the cards to see descriptions of what they do.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#152Graphics3.85
#464Mood3.10
#565Fun3.04
#588Innovation3.12
#697Overall3.07
#1115Theme2.15
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

Dragon707 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Awesome game! Won twice and lost 5 times...

Koen Hendriks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04am

The artwork and the animations look amazing! Really thrilled by this game!Played for about 15 rounds think. Amazing work.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Hi there. Nice graphics and smooth movement. Found the game itself confusing, but tricky thing to invent a card game. Was suspicious that computer was deciding card after I played...

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

The animations of the cards are awesome and the gameplay is interesting, keep working hard!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I couldn't understand what most of the cards did. What did the swap card do? Why should we play any particular card, because if they play the corresponding card, it'll happen anyway? The design makes the game feel quite futile.

Simon@LD says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16am

This game made me remember how much fun card games can be :) Really liked it, cool card animations. The only remark i have is that you can't see your health in number-form (makes it hard to determine how much health you/your opponent has left). Thanks for making this game!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Nice entry, I don't know if it was just for me, but the images on the cards did not show up as it is on the game screens.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Very nicely done, and it wasn't slow for me on Firefox. The only "complaint" from my side would be that the connection to the theme is tenuous at best, but otherwise it's a very cool card game :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:11pm

very cool card game. I think a bit more variety should make it a little better. audio would be good too :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Nice card game. Think the balancing needed some work. Maybe when you play a card the opposite card is destroyed and that card has no effect unless it is a trap or shield?

grayhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Nice work! A fun and challenging card game that's clearly had a lot of thought put into it. The only thing lacking for me was a clear link to the theme, with the mention of the planets in the description seeming like an afterthought.

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Nice idea but it needs something to give more difficulty in choices

chongdashu says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:49am

Nice game! I won the first time around! :)

Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:43am

Cool card game idea, I'd like to see it developed!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:48am

nice card game. very smooth and polished for 48h

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]