Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tubular Trader

by socks - Jam Entry

The two biodome cities request that you connect them together with BOTH pipe systems! Connect both brown and slate(?) colored pipes to both cities without any gaps. Pipes rotate randomly every 5 seconds due to "environmental conditions" and "rebels".

Source requires Python 3 and pyglet 1.2a1 (not included, available at https://code.google.com/p/pyglet/downloads/list?q=1.2alpha1)

Controls:
- Left mouse: Pick up piece -> swap piece
- Right mouse: Rotate piece
- ESCAPE: Pause
- Q: Quit when paused
- F: Show framerate

Known bugs:
- Some graphical errors due to precision loss from rotating
- Unable to drop piece where it was picked up from [fixed]
- Both pipe colors do not need to be connected at the same time [fixed]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#312Fun(Jam)3.15
#464Overall(Jam)3.11
#477Theme(Jam)2.96
#487Innovation(Jam)2.85
#677Graphics(Jam)2.54
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Chris_E says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:36am

Great game. Nice little twist on the classic pipe game. The random piece swaps are nice. It would be too easy having to do one color, but two makes it challenging enough to be interesting.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Solid entry with gameplay that works.

chartinboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:09am

Love it. Great take on an old idea, and extremely challenging.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Hardcore gamers will enjoy this challenging game. I know I did! :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Nice entry! I like when classical game gets a twist :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:12pm

I love pipe games! this one was very fun also! Excelente work! :D

Shivur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Good concept!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:35am

Good concept, but buggy it said I won but my pipes were broken. Also that was not clear that you need both pipes colors need to be connected (I thought I only need the bottom one). But Good overall ;)

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:37am

It needs more feedback! I having to retrace the path you made with pipes to see which part is really connected to a city and which isn't is not really cool. And the random rotation thing is meh.

socks says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:32am

Lvyn: That bug should be fixed now. I apologize for the lack of clarity. You aren't the only one mention these issues. :( Thank you.

dancingmad: Thanks. I'll consider visual cues for both.

Code White says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:09am

This is actually a really hard game! Well done!

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:09am

Not bad! I can imagine expanding upon this concept and making a full game with puzzles. More visual feedback would be great, at least on which color is connected, ideally the whole flow traced.

frosty says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:32am

Nice minimal puzzle game. I like the graphic style. =)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]