Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Faction Wars

by ra4king - Jam Entry

NOTE: I used Java 8, if you don't have it installed or you don't know if you do, the Windows and Linux links include it. If you do have Java 8 installed, download the JAR file!

A turn-based 4X game where you try to connect all the planets to gather ALL the resources and win the game!

Left click to choose the 'from' target. Right click to choose the 'to' target. Explore planets, send ships and buying connections require both a 'from' planet and 'to' planet.

To clear all selections click on selected 'from' planet.

You must explore a planet first before being able to send ships to it. Connections automatically transfers the tax money backwards so tax collection takes place once at the accumulated planet, thus not wasting valuable turns. The goal is to connect all the planets back to one planet and eradicate the enemy.

Programmed by Roi Atalla (ra4king) and the art is by razorquick!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#358Theme(Jam)3.21
#492Fun(Jam)2.84
#540Innovation(Jam)2.76
#582Graphics(Jam)2.88
#585Humor(Jam)1.67
#587Overall(Jam)2.92
#646Mood(Jam)2.47
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Jaenis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Can't run this... First Java security complained that it won't run, but lowering security settings at Java Control Panel (windows) allowed the game to run.
And then it gave an error "Unable to launch the application": java.lang.UnsuportedClassVersionError: com/ra4king/ludumdare/factionwars/FactionWars: Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

ra4king says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Whoa, I didn't know JNLP's were also bound by those stringent security rules! And yeah this was made using Java 8, I'll repackage it to fix those issues.q

MemoryLeek says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

Ran just fine on Linux with the bundled jre8 :)
The game, to me, wasn't very fun simply because it wasn't very challenging.
The AI never attacked, and it was more of a contest of patience with collecting taxes.
Still, the game feels well made and the concept isn't bad, I just think it could have been a bit more challenging and less repetitive.
Some music and sfx wouldn't have hurt either :)

ra4king says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

Thanks for the feedback! I have made a few tweaks to the AI, hopefully it's a little better now.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:25am

The standalone JAR didn't run for me due to the class loader issue, but the included JRE did. Game was a little tedious, and kinda lacks a challenge. The map with the unexplored planets makes you want to visit them all, but once you do, you're just done. Know what I mean? With some gameplay improvements, this could be a fun game, esp if it was playable on the web instead of as a download.

Wertle says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:59am

Those ships are so teeny tiny! I think one sort of polishy thing that would really help the pacing would be popup contextual menus instead of having to go back and forth to the side and the planets (the hotkeys helped a lot with this, though). Nice work!

Nick Weihs says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:01am

Great job making a 4x game in 72 hours! Even though the graphics were pretty minimal, I still managed to figure out what to do without much difficulty. I liked the fact that the game didn't get too difficult at the start, but it didn't seem to ramp up very much and I ended up just steamrolling through the rest of the game. I think you could have made the AI a little stronger and this game would have been significantly more fun. The simplification of the 4x experience really worked well in this game.

DeathPidgeon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:17am

Reminds me a lot of Galcon, although more slow and it has more detail. Game play was slow at first but once I got more planets things picked up and it felt like I was pulling weeds. I eventually one, didn't see any bugs. Good job.

cstudios says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:11am

I did like it. But the AI is weak, i mean i crushed the green and orange faction with no problem. If you would improve the AI and release it for touch devices (mainly tablets) it would be a nice "chess" game :)

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:39am

I really liked this game, but would've found it more fun if the AI could put up more of a fight. As it was they only stole two or three of my planets throughout the whole game, and each time they left their vessel on their ill-gotten gains for the gaping maws of my nearby fleet to instantly come and wipe them out. But this could very well become something really awesome with some more time and effort put in! Good work! : )

Tosic says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:47am

I really like it, especially the fact you can send ships and conquer other planets, really nicer! :)

Tosic says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 9:47am

Sorry, I meant really nice (silly me)

bluesky says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Nice entry, well done.

chowee says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Galcon turn by turn :P

More seriously, nice entry but the AI is not very hard to beat and the game seems a bit unbalanced. It seemed to me like building a gigantic army of ships was the only viable thing to do.

I had fun playing it nonetheless, good work !

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:20pm

AI was weak, but overall very good game. Good job :)

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:19am

I would love to see this expanded upon.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]