Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

mast

by jmf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD keys for movement and mouse to aim and shoot gun.

Coded with Haxeflixel, art made in Gimp and sfx made conjured in bfxr.

The four worlds are connected to the portal world, each with unique gameplay. There is a boss fight if you can manage to beat all 4.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#124Fun3.65
#319Overall3.45
#479Innovation3.26
#697Audio2.44
#790Graphics2.74
#984Theme2.53
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Pretty fun game, the controls are awkward but spent about fifteen minutes getting used to them, and love it.

sorle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:01pm

fun little game but also pretty difficult.
i took me a while but I enjoyed it :)

radmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Hi, having trouble running the linux version on fedora:

[emarcotte@localhost mast-linux64]$ ./mast
libGL error: failed to load driver: swrast
X Error of failed request: GLXUnsupportedPrivateRequest
Major opcode of failed request: 152 (GLX)
Minor opcode of failed request: 16 (X_GLXVendorPrivate)
Serial number of failed request: 197
Current serial number in output stream: 199

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Quite difficult, but simple and fun :)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:59pm

This was one of the harder games I've played this LD, but that what makes players build skill. VERY GOOD GAMW!

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:00am

Neat mechanics. The floating one was particularly challenging though. I think the game would really benefit from precise collision checking, because I often felt that I was colliding when I still had some space left.

I really like the aesthetic, but it does make my eyes bug out. I'm colourblind, so that is probably a factor.

jmf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:01am

@radmars Thanks for the feedback, apparently it is a bug with the version of lime I was using. I have just updated my version of lime and rebuilt the linux version, could you give it a go when you get a chance?

granut100 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:03am

Difficult game but it was very fun!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08am

At times it was slightly difficult, but all around it was an enjoyable game. Despite having the retro 8-bit graphics style, you still managed to pull it off. Good job man.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42am

Played it to the end, had fun. thanks for this good entry. try to add music next time.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Pretty fun. The controls were fine for me. At first I just stood around and shot the enemies until I realized I needed to collect the letters. I wish it had some more sound effects. Overall, good job!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Venture. But too hard.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Well that top left room was invincible for me. Nice entry, tough one too!

chongdashu says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:55am

Whoa, that one stage with the heavy gravity was really difficult. But good fun! :)

Endurion says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice game!

Nothing too innovative, but neat. The gravity one is quite a bit harder than the other parts.
I like that you can move about in the win screen.

teamawesome says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:16pm

AAAAAAaaaaaaagghjjaaha!!!! That is a frustrating game :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]