Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wallrun Dot Love

by leafo - Jam Entry

Kill lots of heart things in this action platformer with wall running, ledge grabbing and cool attacks. 4 enemy types with advanced AI. Try to go for a top time! Enjoy the sick midi tunes as you play!

C - Attack (confirm)
X - Jump
Arrows - Move
Down + C in mid air - Spike attack
Esc - Quit


Made by leafo and i.i

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Audio(Jam)4.00
#97Overall(Jam)3.70
#107Graphics(Jam)4.15
#122Fun(Jam)3.55
#124Mood(Jam)3.65
#627Innovation(Jam)2.55
#710Theme(Jam)2.06
#2027Coolness17%

Comments

i.i says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47am

*phew*
Gotta' work on my speed.

All the cool stuff in this game is made by leafo. Everyone give him a big props for being an amazing developer!

varun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32am

Found the game-play to be extremely fluid, yet still quite challenging. Great art and music as well!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

Love the style of this, and the player's movements are very fluid, satisfying. Just fix that checkpoint thing...

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:02am

Wicked colors, and the wall sliding was good too

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:14am

This is quite fun. The pixel artwork is "LOVE"ly and the controls feel spot on.

orbitantlers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29pm

I died so many times :0
Controls felt nice. Combat was a bit finicky.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Cool game, the movement feel really good.

I believe using checkpoints or some kind of hp could fit with this design.

(btw, i also did a wall walking mechanic on my game!)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:12am

awesome aesthetics! Digging this! Audio was amazing. Challenging game! :)

sekaru says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:44am

Great action, great art and great music! I had a few graphical glitches at times - I'd get these white lines flashing on the screen for a split second.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

Nice art and platforming mechanics. That enemy pillar killed me so many times till I figured out that's what was killing me >.<

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

Hey! Love the garphics and the game mechanics, music is nice too. But the game is so hard xD maybe if the respawning was quickier... nice job!

Canyon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Yeah checkpoints...

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:48pm

That movement is great!

leafarz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:33am

woah! this is a really cool game! nice art and and mechanics! also liked the audio here. it was pretty hard though. i think it's because of the range of the attack is really short. makes you go closer to the enemies enough to get you killed lol.
great game and good job! :D

Simon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Sounds, looks and feels beautifully. Great job!

Natman says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:13am

This game is so damn hard. Good work on the particle effects/screenshake/game feel. It all comes together to make a great aesthetic despite the relatively simple assets.

The music was fantastic as well.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:33am

I did not like the controls (or maybe the combat mechanics). The jumping was OKx, but the down-strike was impossible to execute consistently. Also the hitboxes seemed weird. I like the level design, especially the size of the levels. The movement of the character feels very fast because the levels are so big compared to him and because of the parallax effect.

chadiik says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Amazingly weird music! :D

pansapiens says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:48am

Great fun and nicely 'juiced'. Wall running makes it feel like I'm controlling a superhero. Those enemies sure aren't your garden variety Goomba :)

Kayelgee says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I died way too many time -_-'. I had some weird graphic glitches all the tiles weren't aligned to the grid at times so I could see a pixel line of the background inside the walls.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]