Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nosliw Plane

by hamster_mk_4 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is made in the grand tradition of biting off more than I can chew. I envisioned a 3d platformer with all sorts of game play based around momentum. All the features are implemented except for making the levels to show case them.

I have 2 levels and a central hub in this demo.

As an Easter egg the Glide mechanic is implemented with the shift key. But I did not make a level that could highlight it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#489Humor2.43
#534Graphics3.13
#682Fun2.90
#721Mood2.80
#738Overall3.03
#909Theme2.67
#1054Innovation2.38

Comments

donut345 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:09pm

awesome mood and atmosphere...i feel like i am in someones head... though the mouse seems to offset when you turn.. maybe if the camera auto centered on the player it would be funner but that is detrimental to the playability.. overall fun, reminds me of the old tomb raider games

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16am

Interesting. I had trouble reading the text, either due to the font or the size. That could just be me, though. Not a bad start for a 3D platformer. I hope you plan on fleshing this out some.

graebor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17am

Good result for a weekend of work! Movement actually feels pretty good once I invert the mouse, though it would be nice if the cursor locked to the center of the screen instead of being loose.

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17am

Interesting entry. I love the portals and the gliding.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18am

Pretty neat, probably would of preferred a 3rd person camera follower over the mouse input though.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23am

Impressive to make a 3D platformer that's as good as this for a Ludum Dare. The controls could be more fluid though.

Ixeno says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36am

Impressive work for 48h!
I bit to fast for me, but nice job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:47am

I feel a bit uncomfortable with inverted-Y camera movement. But overall it's not bad.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51am

To all those who want inverted mouse use the Tab button to get to the options and move the Y Mouse slider to the left of center. Also thanks for the comments. <3

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:47am

Awesome 3D platforming!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Mouse control are reversed - not my personal preference and font size are bit small, but the game itself looks and fills very solid - nice texturing job, animation and particle effects considering time limit. Enjoyed it very much.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:54pm

I must say I really like the gilding, I wish the whole game was built on that. bit confusing

Nichii says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Well, you have a very good game mechanic here, especially with the glide. I had tons of fun flying around with it. You should really consider making a full game out of it...

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:20am

As others have mentioned the font is a little tough to read but I like where you were going with the gameplay.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:37am

Hi there. Interesting looking world. Probably need to capture the mouse, tricky to keep control of camera otherwise. Shame no sound. Good job in 48h !

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:47am

Not bad for 48 hours. Could really use some sound.

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:04am

Hats off to someone insane enough to create a 3D platformer with animated assets... and actually pull it off! :) I would have loved to see a Jam entry, where you had an extra day to use all of the awesome stuff you created. Good work.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:05am

The camera controls could use some more work.
I don't know about inverting the Y axis... Maybe on Analog stick it would feel fine but on mouse it feels pretty awkward...
Also,
Screen.lockCursor = true;
to lock that cursor to the center of the screen.
The game could also use some sound.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Ahh introverted cameraaa lol

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]