Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heroes on Wings of Steel and Fire

by mattperrin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the last hope for the united core worlds against the insidious Sectai horde. Fly the latest prototype fighters against a brutal (and possibly endless) swarm of Sectai ships. WASD to move your ship, press slash to fire primary weapons, and right Shift to fire Specials.

The name's a homage to the crazy Japanese shmups of the 90s.

Also, (as part of the Connected Worlds theme) it was originally going to be an online coop multiplayer game but the server was having a fit managing all the entities. I re-purposed the theme into players having to choose their combination of weapons from the best of the core world's united R&D. Every time a player dies, the technology they were using is lost... :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#375Audio3.00
#385Mood3.19
#556Fun3.05
#562Graphics3.10
#816Overall2.95
#1049Innovation2.39
#1097Theme2.21
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10am

Interesting little game, I like the concept and how you expanded on the genre. Nice sound and minimalist graphics too. I have to admit the controls were confusing at first. I didn't realize the fire button was the "/" key. Something about the way "? - Fire Primary" looks is confusing. Anyway, the rest of it is pretty straightforward and fun. Nice work!

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31am

Figuring out the buttons took a little too long. "? for fire" is strange and unintuitive.

That said, game worked well, i liked the idea of choosing from the remaining ships/weapons when losing a life. One weapon seemed like it didn't do any damage (The wave that gets bigger with time).

Good job !

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33am

Very good entry, the controls were really responsive and it was overall fun to play, however lacked a bit of creativity

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

? FOR FIRE? I just couldn't figure it out. Luckily, I saw @sprawl's comment and ended up figuring it out. I like the variety of ships and weapons, but when you're actually in game, they all feel the same and the gameplay is easy / repetitive. It would be great if you could incorporate all the different weapons into a more robust game.

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37am

Yeah, sorry about the controls. Dropped the ball on that one. I just got so used to quick;y testing it while coding I didn't even think about it and then gaffed when I made the instructions. Oh well, thanks for playing! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27am

Neat game! I liked the pixel-art outline look. Some transition between playing and the game-over/ship selection screens would have been welcome, though, and when you don't have any limitations on "special" weaponry, they no longer feel really special.

The MMO version of this sounds like it would have been really cool! No problems with the controls for me; unorthodox, but not hard to use.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56am

Controls weren't my favorite, and if I somehow lost window focus, I couldnt get it back... I love SHMUPs though, and the mix-and-match was very sweet.

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:20pm

The Linux build works. I was expecting this to be much faster-paced. The removal of ships & weapons when you die is interesting. It'd probably fit better if you had to plan out your approach based on the enemy types in the following levels. The music is alright. It fits the mood, and doesn't get annoying (the important part).

Nitpicks:

- Text before ship selection scrolls too fast for me to read, and doesn't stop moving at the end. On top of that, the background doesn't make for easy reading.
- '/' for fire, not '?'!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:06pm

cool idea choosing the ship components... it is challenging too. Was game over faster than i could look :D The particle fx feels like a stranger... but the game is, what it should be... a playable prototyp. Good job

Kate Kligman says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:06am

Liked the pixel art graphics. Had some difficulty with the controls at first, but once I got into playing it sort of worked out.

The Lag Pack says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Pretty fun, reminds me of old arcade shooters like galaga. Nice entry :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]