Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Quoduonda

by Killswitch - Jam Entry

Intro:

Through simplistic movement, you can alter the abstract dimension with seemingly magic.

Your goal is to find a way to touch the green "paperwheel".

The puzzles are the mysteries for you to slove....

Clues are "everywhere"....

Info:

This is a 3D first-person puzzle platformer with a few levels.

Up&Down/W&S - Move
Left&Right/A&D - Change (Camera) View

If the game quits by itself = you BEAT it!

*The title came from the Latin words "quod duo mundi" meaning "two worlds" in English.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Innovation(Jam)3.40
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#547Fun(Jam)2.75
#590Theme(Jam)2.60
#610Audio(Jam)2.00
#693Graphics(Jam)2.45
#709Overall(Jam)2.62
#1694Coolness35%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Not amazing. Bazinga! Good Job.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25pm

It's quite mesmerizing. Nice work. I'd play loads more levels.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:29pm

The heavy movement restrictions made it difficult to move around and observe my effects on the environment. The abstract puzzles were an interesting concept, but were usually a variant of "mess with switches until something works." Still, I think this could have been a lot better with more freedom in motion and camera angle.

Killswitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Tnx^^....criticisms are welcome. C:

Capitals says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Confusing... I didn't like the fact that it took me into a forced full-screen resolution.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13am

Sorry dude, had to mute the sound it hurt me! The game was pretty innovative though, interesting use of gameplay to switch around the different rooms. Nice job

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:14am

This game is... confusing. Not bad, but confusing. And those sound effects hurt my ears!

Terrabalt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43am

Great Concept, but the combination of the sound, the tight control, and hard-to-see world, this game isn't that great.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:03pm

It took me a little while to realize that the red and blue lanterns were switches. After that it was pretty easy except the last one. I have no idea what happened there but I beat it. It would've helped a lot if I could look up, even with the tank controls.
Also Chrome blocked the download claiming it to be malware.

Killswitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:51am

Update: the camera is fixed, the movement is now smoother. Added some "improvements" on the music.

Killswitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:56am

Also, I don't think Chrome is efficient at detecting malware.
Thanks for the helpful reviews again! :D

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:40am

Interesting, the graphics were special. Not something to play a long time. You should upload your game to another website (mediafire for example) if your game get's detected as malware. Should do the trick. Good job!

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

What's this????? How it's coded???? Only 116kb!!!!!!!

shatterhand says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Ouch, my ears! LOL :)

I loved the atmosphere of the game. It took me a while to understand, then it was easy.

I had no problem with the controls or the camera at all.

Also, good to see something coded in a more "pure" way, I don't know what you used to code this, but seeing something that weighs less than 512kb is a relief :)

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:05am

Very interesting. I could only move in 45 degree increments, which was a little frustrating, but I was able to get over it. It was pretty easy once you figured it out, the red and blues are switches that you can use to get to the greens.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:29am

Not a fan of visuals, definitely not a fan of audio. >.< Also, controls felt rather weird; I guess I'd prefer good ol' WSAD + mouse combo.

Still, I managed to beat it somehow, though the controls didn't make it easier. O.o"

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]