Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Robbin' Hoods

by BroCade - Jam Entry

Break into the homes of the rich and return your stash of wealth to the poor.

A small little game trying to illustrate the interconnection between the worlds of the have and have nots & their futile endless conflict... also its fun to steal.

Hope you enjoy this, our first Ludum Dare and 2nd attempt at making a game. Had a blast making this with my Bro. Hope you have fun trying it out.

Special thanks to Benjamin Burnes for creating music tracks for Jam.
FInd him here - https://soundcloud.com/abstraction




*Spoilers below

There is no win state, it is a never ending struggle for economic equality

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#170Audio(Jam)3.50
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#219Innovation(Jam)3.35
#221Graphics(Jam)3.78
#281Theme(Jam)3.39
#333Mood(Jam)3.17
#345Overall(Jam)3.28
#425Fun(Jam)2.96

Comments

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:26am

I couldn't actually spot what I was supposed to be stealing, but I enjoyed wandering around the blocks try to avoid the fuzz.

"also its fun to steal." eh say what?

BroCade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Thanx Will
You actual break into the Rich homes and return your stash to any on the poor homes. Will update the description to hopefully make things more clear.

and its only fun ti steal in games, i dont recommend it in real life ;)

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:41am

Nice concept and audio.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:43am

A neat take on the theme! I liked the idea and the gameplay, but I wish there were a bit fewer buildings; it takes a long time to make all the "transfers" :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:44am

Fun little game. I liked taking away what I gave to the poor and giving it to the next door house!

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:45am

The game's mood and art is really competent.The only thing I felt stopped it being really fun was that the game had no objective and was meant to be an endless struggle.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:56am

The art is lovely and the dead economic divide along the railway tracks is pretty funny lol. If I press a/d immediately after pressing spacebar to rob, I can move around while I'm meant to be inside the house and get far away before the alarms go off.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I like the story and theme you guys came up with for this game. The art all around is great too! I especially like the main menu art, very nice. I think the gameplay, however, suffers from the lack of a goal (nice try with the "never ending struggle" haha). A lot of potential here for some fun stealth mechanics.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:38pm

That was fun and refreshingly different. I also wish there was more of a goal though.
I like how the police stay away from the poor houses.

miwuc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Cute and well made! Nice graphics and very fitting music. I would have played longer if there was a win state, to give some sense of progress. Very polished game, congrats.

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Fun concept and an interesting take on the theme :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18pm

I liked how the rich buildings became poor after robbing them. It was more like Making the rich poor, and vice versa :P

Simple gameplay and maybe a bit too easy. I had to "suicide" on the cops to see what happened :P
I loved the audio and graphics!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Really nice subversion on the whole robin hood idea.

BroCade says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:04am

InfectionTeam, i was hoping no one would notice that bug. We only picked it up a few hour minutes before the deadline, nice spot ;)

BroCade says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:09am

Thank you everyone who took the time to try out our little game. The lack of objective/end game is definitely a recurring and valid criticism. Do you think adding limited lives and a score attack mechanic would help with that?
Id love to hear any other suggestions.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:14pm

While I enjoyed the game on mechanics-level it felt weird to me that I'd make one family rich and the other family poor. I think there could've been more of a statement made there.
Still works well though!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Pretty solid game, but I guess if I were to use that idea, I'd prefer to have some sort of puzzle/stealth game, where getting caught means immediate restart and instead of making rich poor and poor rich, you'd simply make poor rich (since at some point it doesn't really matter if someone has $ 100mil or "merely" $ 50mil) and rich would stay rich, just half as rich.

I guess I'll stop here before I start making kidney analogies.

BroCade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Everyone loves a kidney analogies :)

Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:34pm

I really enjoyed playing this game! Like how you tied it to the theme, and I love the social / economic message. This is my favorite entry (so far). Can't wait to play your next LD!

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Very nice. I loved the graphics. Feels like there could be a neat little game here with some more work :) Or leave it as it is, I like the 'no win state' comment :P

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:49am

Amazing results for a first Ludum Dare and certainly for a second attempt at making a game. For it to be great I would recommend setting a goal for the gamer to achieve, as well as a good and bad end scenarios. I liked how the policemen wouldn't go into the bad neighbourhood until some nice houses started coming into it. Good job, keep it up!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:32pm

this game is awesome. such a good idea! I like how the cops only stay in the nice area and wont even chase you into the poor area.

BroCade says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Thank you so much wheelsx, will try not disapoint :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]