Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ride to the Moon

by CrefossusJam - Jam Entry

Made in a couple hours.

Get to the moon!

Suggestion: Left hand on arrow keys - right on mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#197Humor(Jam)2.93
#596Innovation(Jam)2.63
#674Fun(Jam)2.44
#713Graphics(Jam)2.31
#714Theme(Jam)2.04
#747Overall(Jam)2.48
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:20am

Took quite a few tries, but completed the level in the end! Was much easier when using the arrow keys too

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53am

Good game! What do you think about PlayCanvas after making this game?

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:30pm

so hard!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:03am

The first time I beat it I completely missed the part about arrow keys and was just using the mouse. I wondered why it was so difficult. :P

One thing you might do is make some control box outside the level where the mouse can click and drag for the direction changes. Otherwise, it can be difficult to click and drag the mouse precisely for a quick motion change.

The hat is a funny choice!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:01am

Fun, but difficult :D

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:45am

I wanted to get to the end so bad! Great take on the "jump" game formula, I liked the idea of an almost "pinball" starting mechanic, pulling the mouse down.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:53am

Much easier with the arrow keys! Nice sub :) keep it up

Stending says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:56am

Haha, I was afraid that we made a similar game, but not at all!
The control are pretty original, it's hard but fun!
Nice job, specially if it was done in a couple of hours

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Arrow keys works best, good game! ;)

sprawl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:46pm

It's really short. Took me a few tries since you cant see what is above you until you actually hit it.

Some things you could add/modify :
- A bar for when you click and release the hat to see just how powerful your start is going to be.
- Zoom out or reduce speed so the player can see what's happening and don't have to memorize the levels.

Good job on the submission.

xandy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

nice little game sadly without sound

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Hi there. DoodleJumpish. Nice idea. My reactions nowhere near fast enough. Maybe show more of what's ahead, not sure it makes sense to have to die at least once for every new red encountered! Good job though.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:43am

I like that I got to play as a hat!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Definitely way too fast for me. At the moment all I can do is launch the hat and pray that I don't hit any reds.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]