Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Icecream and World Domination

by KigurumiDevs - Jam Entry

Hey,

we made an awesome strategy planet fight thingy game. :)
I hope you enjoy it as much as we do. ^^

In the game you play a very angry alien kid, who wants to dominate the universe. And especially the planets where cats exist.
You have to fight against an opponent, who tries to get control over you. The gameplay requires logical and strategical thinking and brings a lot of pew pew and fun.

The game requires Java 7 or higher to run. Tested on Windows.

If you leave a comment we will check out your game and leave a comment aswell <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#58Humor(Jam)3.63
#103Theme(Jam)3.75
#129Fun(Jam)3.53
#210Mood(Jam)3.41
#210Overall(Jam)3.45
#255Innovation(Jam)3.25
#284Audio(Jam)3.29
#361Graphics(Jam)3.44

Comments

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

Nice game. The graphics and the sounds fit well together and make the game especially moody. I like the idea of upgrade planets. Therefore the player has to think carefully in which direction he has to conquer the planets, because the weapons have different attributes.

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11am

nice game, and having that story as intro was a good idea

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

A great game, I like how the theme is present in the game. The mood is indeed very good. The idea is great and the story is pretty funny. One thing annoyed me - when the music loops there is about a second of complete silence which is annoying. I guess I really should read some more guides about world domination :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39pm

the game crashes on the second level

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Looks very nice and has some good strategy elements. The use of different weapon types against different planets and the choice of which to attack first creates a lot of possibilities for strategic play. Nicely done.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15pm

The gameplay is very nice.. It's fun! But I had to rage-quit because my conquered plates had a so low population after my attacks, that the enemy could conquer them with one rocket..

It's impossible.. (or maybe just very hard..)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

I think the concept is interesting but it could have been more challenging. Currently it seems hard to loose a level. Also, it seems that connecting planets doesn't imply anything special except taking control of the new planet. It would have been cool that connections bring some kind of combo between your planets.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:29pm

When you play through the tutorial you will see that taking control over planets can give you combos and advantages. :) Besides the levels challenge increases immidiately after the tutorial phase is done (where the levels are simple to introduce the gameplay).

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Hey, I was trying to run your game but it looks like it doesn't work :/ It only generates this error log: http://pastebin.com/RPGaMpPu Hope you can fix this!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21pm

I had fun conquering all those worlds lol! I liked the mechanics, really made you think before you shoot.

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Nice! The balance is really interesting as well. The latter levels are somewhat unbalanced though, which turns the RTS into a RTS-puzzle kinda game, where you need to carefully time the attacks and stuff; I spent like 20 minutes on a single level like this, memorizing and calculating the optimal way to win. Well done!

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19pm

nice game, one thing i'd say is the font on the bottom is very difficult to read with the glow effect? on it. and mine crashed unfortunately but i did get far enough to enjoy. great job!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Awesome game! Great story, really liked the various weapons :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Great game! Interesting idea with each playing having their own play style.

X-0r says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45pm

The game didn't fit my vertical screen resolution... I wish there was a fullscreen option, or something to adapt the resolution... Still, it was fun to fire a few rockets, lasers and poison warheads :D

Lvyn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:17am

Nice game I liked it, espacially the story ;)

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Great game. Very fun to play, the levels get quite difficult later.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Nice and solid strategy game. Like arts, music, interpretation of idea and gameplay, of course.

Manou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

good potential. nice job.

lkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Interesting linking/combo mechanics.
The later levels got pretty rough, and seemed to require very precise timing at times, but it was a good challenge :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:33am

Nice level design and the back story was hilarious, added a great element to the game on why you are attacking other planets.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]