Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

La Roue de Fortune

by ZNCatlaw - Jam Entry

Programming by @nomoon & @arrogantgamer

Design and arrangement by @clangmuir

Works best on Chrome, next best on Firefox, and manages to get by on Safari and iOS (iPad).

Hello! We wanted to make a moody fantasy game about exploring and changing a multiverse, or a world that had been broken up into many little pieces.

For the last few game jams, we'd made platformers that required a download and we wanted to explore something outside of that genre that we could publish directly to web.

So, after a bit of prototyping and a lot of CSS, we present "La Roue de Fortune", a game where you explore and control the multiverse using a deck of Tarot cards.

Tarot de Marseille images provided by http://www.cbdtarot.com/

Music is "(Intro)" by Fyrnask http://fyrnask.bandcamp.com/ .

Background images courtesy of
https://www.flickr.com/photos/nicholas_t/14700182324
https://www.flickr.com/photos/centenico/6175673029
https://www.flickr.com/photos/manhattan104/6778698846
https://www.flickr.com/photos/mualphachi/12242256733
https://www.flickr.com/photos/hotair2112/255860717/
https://www.flickr.com/photos/rlanvin/11683138804
https://www.flickr.com/photos/fauxto_dkp/2653724159
https://www.flickr.com/photos/msavagephotography/14100149394

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#160Innovation(Jam)3.47
#260Audio(Jam)3.33
#382Graphics(Jam)3.38
#611Theme(Jam)2.53
#622Overall(Jam)2.83
#682Fun(Jam)2.40
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Really nice puzzle game, i loved it :) ! Maybe "La Roue de la fortune" is a bit too strong I guess.

bg1987 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:52pm

This game needs a tutorial, or at least some labels.
A lot of things are unclear.
Cards that let you discard any number of cards, i still cant figure our how do i get them to work (if i only want to discard 2 cards, for instance)

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Yes, the arrangement of the board and the visual feedback for certain choices are not clear enough. That's something we will be working on for the post-jam version. When you click a card in your collection (at the bottom of the screen) it becomes "selected" (you will see a faint white glow). Then you can "submit" the entire selection by clicking the finger. Thanks for playing!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Played it three times, and even formed the four required hands on two of those tries but I just couldn't figure out how to end the game (aka how to use The World I guess).

Anssi@MooseflyGames

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:43pm

@Moosefly - "This card may only be accessed from La Roue de Fortune." Is this not clear? Bummed to hear you got so close! Thanks for playing!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Beautiful card designs and really cool eerie ambiance. Nicely done!

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27pm

@ZNCatlaw: I thought it meant that the card can only be used directly after using La Roue de Fortune and having made four complete hands, but it just wouldn't let me use it :(.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Well, I just tried it again and this time it worked like I thought it would / how it was supposed to. Maybe I messed something up on the other tries. Now the game makes a lot more sense :P.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21am

Glad it worked, and happy that you got to the ending!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Sorry but I could not play it, I just get a White screen with the name of the game.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Yes, sorry I broke it! I'm fixing it now :(

John Drury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Lovely background and art! Mood really set with music. Couldn't figure out what to do though.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Interesting!! Definitely not an average interpretation of the theme.

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:23pm

I want to play this game because it's clear there's some very interesting mechanics to play with. But without some kind of tutorial or explanation I just have no idea what I'm even trying to do. Please let me know if you do put out some explanation so I can re-play. (@JavadocMD or on my game's page.) Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]