Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galaxy Hunters

by Konste - Jam Entry

--------
Explore the galaxies collecting artifacts hidden underneath the rocks to lead your country to victory! The country with the most valuable artifacts after seven minutes brings home economic prosperity to their country. Those that don't will come back with nothing but hopes and dreams.
--------

--------
CONTROLS:
Ship:
WASD/Arrows to navigate

Astronaut:
WASD/Arrow to navigate
SPACE to shoot
--------

--------
Made by:
KONSTE.COM [2014]
Programming: twitter.com/nintorii
Art/Music: ormid.deviantart.com
--------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#149Audio(Jam)3.56
#266Graphics(Jam)3.65
#305Mood(Jam)3.23
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#368Fun(Jam)3.06
#375Innovation(Jam)3.06
#381Overall(Jam)3.23
#483Theme(Jam)2.94

Comments

lakael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12am

i like this game. i actually had fun. i see it being like a faster paced starbound if you were to continue working on it

sudorossy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20am

Pretty awesome!

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:25am

Wow, I loved this! A little rivalry between countries doesn't hurt. ((Dangit, France!)) Once, however, it told me that all artifacts on the planet were found, but I ended up finding another by accident.

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:30am

nice work! the music kicks A$$..

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31am

Love the sound and graphics!

BitDemon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34am

I had a lot of fun playing this game once I figured out what I needed to do. I love the graphics too.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51am

I like the frantic gameplay, but it gets repetitive. Maybe a shorter play cycle or more gameplay variety would help if you choose to continue working on this.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:54am

I like how there is this pressure to get as many money as you can against the other countries. The tally on the left is a really nice touch.

Traversing the planets is a bit frustrating though due to the randomly placed tile blocks. How about adding enemies as the gauge for difficulty for planets?

Still a nice game. Graphics are gorgeous!

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

@Accidemtal Rebel
Thanks for the feedback! Would have loved to add enemies if we had the time, it was in the schedule. Unfortunately terrain generation took a lot longer than I predicted it to.

Thanks for the feedback everyone!

PixelFeet says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23am

Really cool game. The music was really good and the experience overall was incredibly polished. Enemies would have been nice, but I totally understand not having the time to make that happen.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:40am

could you make a linux build, please?

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:58am

@r0x0r Linux build is up.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12am

Konste, thanks! it's fun, but at the beginning i searched on a whole planet without finding anything, haha

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:16pm

The graphics and audio were really nice.
I was missing some hints at where the planets are in the space screen.
The controls on the planet felt really weird I kinda expected to aim and shoot with the mouse and move with the keyboard. I didn't get that I can only shoot the rocks at the beginning and was wondering how I can dig down to find something precious.
After a few planets I tried to launch from the planet but the ship immediately landed again. This was on the green planet.

chadiik says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I really love the astronaut's animation (He really DO jump! :D), the planets' music is awesome too.
I found the interplanetary travel is a bit dull but the landing of the ship is real cute :P

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:30pm

The graphics were good, but the controls were difficult, and the stages were badly designed and hard to navigate. Were they randomly generated?

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Really liked the "overworld" map as a space ship. All in all, solid entry....

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43pm

this was really fun, it must have taken awhile to make all the tilesets and art, I'm impressed. I like the astronauts running animation, and overall this was a pretty sweet game, well done! :)

TehSkull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:34pm

This was really nice. More than a little tough too. I only got 2nd place on my first play on easy mode. Would be a bit easier if there was a minimap in space, but maybe easy isn't the vibe you're going for, which is also cool.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36am

Quite fun for it's simplicity, I got second place (Germany won).

Konste says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21am

@Robot Souls Games
Yes, the game's planets and terrains are different each time you play them. Sorry to hear you weren't a fan of the controls, any changes you would make to them?

For you, and anybody else who might be having trouble navigating the planets, you're actually able to wall jump and get more height on otherwise impassable spots.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:39pm

A nice game :) The world generation needs a little work since the service seems to be mainly made out of noisey floating blocks. But otherwise grand :D

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:23am

Neat. -- I'm sure you had a lot you didn't get to, but one of the things that really stuck out to me was the flatness of the background in the space flight part -- would be cooler if the stars moved at different speeds (I usually just give them all a float and assign them a value between .1 and .7 or so -- the larger the number the brighter they are, and you just multiply that number by the player's negative velocity each frame add it to their coordinates, and they'll scroll in that direction, it ends up looking pretty nice).

Konste says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:32am

Thanks @BrainSlugs83! That would have looked awesome, we planned on including stuff like asteroids and stars but couldn't quite get around to it. Maybe check back in a month or so and we'll have a polished version out. :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Where is team Spain? WHERE!?

Apart from that a very entertaining game to play. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]