Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galactic Dump

by SoulGame - Jam Entry

Original space puzzle game where you have to connect worlds in order to fix the galactic mess!
Mouse only (click&hold to create/remove links)

Authors:
www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/argl/
www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/pacimbe/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Theme(Jam)4.48
Overall(Jam)4.50
#9Fun(Jam)4.18
#27Audio(Jam)4.06
#36Innovation(Jam)4.00
#54Mood(Jam)3.91
#56Graphics(Jam)4.33
#75Humor(Jam)3.50

Comments

laremere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

This is a Ludum Dare entry?!? Absolutely stunning work. Great marks on all accounts. The gameplay is simple to understand, and lends itself to eventually being able to get to the solution if you can't figure it out right away. Graphics and audio works seamingly to enforce the experience. I could easily see this doing well on the mobile market. Do it.

ShivanHunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49am

I second what laremere said. This is excellent. All the graphics and audio seem so consistent, the game has an excellent atmosphere.

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36am

Best so far.

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44am

Defiantly the best game i have played so far i wouldn't be surprised if this wins Ludum Dare 30

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:45am

I third what laremere said. Hard to believe this is a LD entry; it should be in the app store.
I appreciate the whale. ;)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50am

Thanks guys for the nice comments. We actually split the job in two, one on the engine, one on the polishing stuff, I'm really glad that it works for you!

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03am

Wow great job! Very engaging. It would be cool if the moons rotated in place instead of the arrows.

Kuupu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

all the feedback and the puzzles are really in the right place
the graphic is really nice
congratulations for the job, I almost can't believe it was done in a Game Jam

mcapraro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:58am

wow, really really well executed! love the graphics and the details when the planets collide. this is really polished, you should be proud!

Talvara says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:57am

Awesome work man! you had me playing and thinking till the end. A true gem you formed here!

I liked the pool of 'death messages'. and the solution to the last level was very pleasing to the eye.

took me a few moments to realise what I had to do on the first level. but when I got it It felt great.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Wow, extremely polished, very nice and relaxing gameplay. This would truly work great on mobile. Just amazing what you did here in just a few days.

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Great job! I really like the overall feel of the interface. The game is fun and interesting. Well done! :D

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Wow, what polish! I'm not a big fan of "puzzles" like that but this is really great, impressive work.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Oh man the first LD30 game I've played and it's this good. This is pretty production quality right here. You even got the difficulty just right and some of the orbit designs were cool to watch.

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Very Well done! You did everything right, just the correct amaount of juice, some nice particles, some sound, a great idea and lots of puzzles! This could also work well on mobile devices!

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Excellent and gorgeous. Fit the theme perfectly, pretty innovative gameplay, and the visual polish is top notch. Sell this, for real. Would be an awesome mobile game.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48am

My jaw just hit the floor. I can't believe it. Damn, guys. Astonishing work. Excellent entry.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:21am

Nicely done! I love how the puzzles were designed so that the easiest way to connect, or the first one I tried, always failed. The level of polish is through the roof. Just sublime in every way.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:00am

An amazing work on the little details and the gameplay itself, intelligent level design and so much fun in resolving puzzles.
You have the potential to produce an even more advanced version of this game, dont hesitate and do it ! via kickstarter or whatever you want.

Once again congratulations.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:49am

Amazing game, very cool idea !

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Stars and more stars ;) Very nice and polished job..

SkyWolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:06pm

extremely polished, doesn't even look like a jam entry

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:42pm

A really solid game! Fun, easy to understand but still challenging. Make some more levels and this would be a great little thing to pass the time with, could work well on a phone as well. Graphics and sound are top notch :)

Z.B.G.E. says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:05pm

This is my favorite so far. Great game. And a really good idea because it's 100% in theme, it have simple mechanism and every aspect of this game is good.
Music is great without being intrusive.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Nifty little puzzle game. Enjoyed!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:19am

Wow, really amazing game. Nice graphics, design, presentation and idea.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:08am

Very interesting game! Nice idea and executing. Enjoyed a lot!

RevoluGame says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Really nice game, I really enjoyed playing it !

YopSolo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

great entry !

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:03am

Nice game, congrats!

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

this is the entry that feels the most as a completed game, impressive!

xXweeguyXx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Awesome game, lovely art, lovely music. The Ui is perfect.

brodavi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:21pm

good lord. what a fantastic game! how... how is this possible? this is going to win.

Naytron says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Very professional looking game, clean and complete. Do you guys work for Ubisoft? I spotted the Rabbid in there...

SoulGame says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Thanks for the comment! Aha I wish we did but it was just a joke Zhyr wanted to add. It's dedicated to a friend of us (and to all Rabbid's fan by the way).

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Wow! Love the game overall! Very polished and executed, and the music is super fitting to boot! Normally I don't bother with puzzles like these, but I got so hooked, I went and finished all the levels! Definitely one of my Top 5 of this Jam! :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Extremely impressed - great level of polish, graphics, ui, sounds.. the lot! Nice and intuitive with a decent difficulty curve.

Also loving the easter eggs like the space whale! :D

Really great job guys, whatever your method for getting this done in 72 hours keep it up and you'll be on to a winner in no time!

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Well there are a lot more stars in my rating of this game than in your game I think. ;)
It's really polished, the small animations and sound effects really completes the brilliant puzzles(how you managed to design and test all of those, I have no idea). AWESOME!

Carduus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Nice entry, fun to play !
Smooth graphics and UI, as well as relaxing audio.

Jedi says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:17am

I'm calling it now:
Congrats on 1st place overall for the Jam :P

I wish there was a win screen and I didn't really appreciate the fail counter, haha, but otherwise it's perfect.

Tosic says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:15am

That was incredible, it reminds me on the games like amazing alex! :DDD

Citsua says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:08pm

This is legendary. I don't know what to criticize. For me it was more "trial and error" than puzzle, but that's just my fault.
This game would totally sell on mobile, please do it and enjoy being rich.

ninjascript says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Absolutely stunning. Well done.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:33am

Fun puzzle game! Really enjoyed it and it's well made.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:32am

Wow. WOW! This is a very polished work, with a well defined progression path and game mechanics, neat graphics and moody audio. Amazing job!

JetL33t says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:47am

Games like these make me doubt that they have been made in 2-3 days.
But it's pretty damn nice, a bit too much trial and error, but still extremely solid.
As Mentioned above, perfect mobile game, get it to the storez :P

tbam says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

Outstanding. Super polished. It feels like you guys had weeks, not days

SoulGame says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:05am

Aha thanks a lot guys! We've actually made everything you see from scratch (except 2 pieces of interface) ! We found the concept in 40 minutes so, we started coding pretty much instantly and we also barely slept!

lotusgame says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:53am

Brilliant game ! Full polished, challenging, interesting... It's professional stuff !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:51am

This is the best JAM game I have played so far. Well done everyone.

Dohan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:00pm

It's great that the game saves the progress! I was playing before but I had to go. Opening it now and finding that I don't need to play again the eight first levels is just awesome!

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Solid entry, love it! Super polished and fun to play, love the style, music and UI.

someone says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Great game. Well polished and challenging levels.
The only issue I had is I would often try to change an existing connection without removing it first which would then delete all my other connections it crosses which was annoying. It would be better to always create a link if you start and end a line on valid planets.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:12pm

That's my favorite entry so far. The amount of polish in the details, including the nice sound effects, is just perfect. I hope you release it for mobile devices!

SoulGame says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:36pm

@someone : Thanks for the feedback. This is definitely something we would like to polish on the final version :)

Njord says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Wow, impressive ! Very nice game, the gameplay is original and the levels are challenging enough. It feels like a complete game, very polished. Congrats !

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:34pm

fantastic job. Great art and music. Was a bit trial and error, but that's fine and this was very fun to play. I could see it doing very well on an iPad and think you should pursue making it for mobile. Very nice job, guys!

Sep 16, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Kepler disapproves. I love the music.

jerombd says ...
Sep 18, 2014 @ 12:49am

Very polished game: simple idea but well executed!!

psychomonster says ...
Sep 18, 2014 @ 11:27am

Thos is a really nice gravity puzzle game. well polished controlls and fast progressing difficulty level. Well done... reasonable good ratings

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]