Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Evolution

by keddelzz - Jam Entry

Hey folks,

First of all i have to say: "Better late than never" - Finally submitted! - In the last minute.

This little game was made by a buddy of mine (kuchenkruste) and myself.
All sprites were made by me, except 2 of the 3 simbols on the pins. - But they're licensed under creative-commons.
We started late and spend a lot of time on the sprites.

Pure Java 2D was used!

Unfortunately we have no sounds, maybe I'll add some later.

Due to the fact I don't own a websize, i had to host my project on puush.me!

Have fun.

cheers ~ keddelzz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#644Innovation(Jam)2.47
#654Graphics(Jam)2.63
#687Theme(Jam)2.19
#737Fun(Jam)2.13
#755Overall(Jam)2.44
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02am

i dont get the game

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33am

Hmm, not sure how to run this one on Linux. I'm getting this error with OpenJDK 6 and 7 installed:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: main/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

I'm not a Java guy and I don't know how Java handles versioning, so I'm not sure what to try here.

keddelzz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27am

@plash, Try using oracles jre 8.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Do not post a link to download under "web" section please, thanks

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:31am

This is pretty cool, like you said some audio would be great to add mood to the gameplay.

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Seemed very simple, just waiting for stuff to click on. I didn't understand where to drag the planet's connector thing.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

"A Java Exception has occurred." - the error I get when trying to run the game.

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

This game was good for testing my mouse, MY MOUSE WORKS, YAY!

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Got the same error as DaGamesta, win7 64 bit

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:20pm

I got an error (OSX)

keddelzz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:25pm

@DaGamesta, @Takashy87 and @RobotFriend, The program was written and tested in java 8. I suppose you have installed an older version of java. Please try to install a newer version, if you want to play the game.

cheers ~ keddelzz

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]