Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Meet The Moon

by K55 - Jam Entry

So this is my first entry into LD, didn't have a lot of time to due this, but I think its a good effort for a single days worth of work. Have fun!

Edit: Repacked it, got it down to 200MB and set the pass to "LD2014". Try that download if the other 2 don't work.

Edit edit: Some nice person (Joe Dolan) made a title track for the game! Thanks Joe! https://soundcloud.com/joedolan-3/meet-the-moon-title Also I added a link with the music, however, do not consider this the project sumbitted for review, because I think the music differs it too much from the original.

Also for some reason UE4 triggers chrome, sorry, cant fix that, try IE or Firefox.

Goal: Manipulate gravity and get to the moon
Engine: UE4
Coding/Art: Me, credit given to NASA for some of the planet textures and opengameart for a sound effect.
Controls: WASD moves, mouse looks, space jumps, press M1 to turn off gravity.

The game may require some libraries to run, so try the UE4 installer in the root of the game zip. The exe itself is in the \WindowsNoEditor\MeetTheMoon\Binaries\Win folder.

If the game runs poorly, use 1 2 and 3 to toggle between high, medium, and low settings.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#339Innovation(Jam)3.12
#409Theme(Jam)3.12
#484Graphics(Jam)3.12
#550Overall(Jam)2.96
#593Fun(Jam)2.65
#632Mood(Jam)2.57
#656Audio(Jam)1.48

Comments

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51am

That moon is scary.

FakeHair says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:52am

I think your download is too big. I've heard that there are a bunch of default textures and objects in UE4 that you should delete before you compile your game. Try that and reupload so people will be willing to download it. Will rate after the (current) 212MB download finishes.

FakeHair says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55am

Just read more about changing the download size. Check this out. https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?16134-Why-is-the-IPA-file-size-so-massive-for-small-games-when-UE4-exports-projects

TheGeekatory says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:58am

Chrome marks the file as malicious and blocks it.

K55 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:00am

K thanks, repackaging atm.

K55 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06am

Ok repackaged and saved...2 MB, turns out the base engine files use over 50MB, well, lesson learned, next time I'll compress more while devving.

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35am

Its okay just the controls are so hard that you cant really play it.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:36am

Nice concept! Really liked the gameplay mechanic.

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51am

Quite a neat little start to a game. So many times of jumping and just missing another planet! I really liked barely catching the lower side of a planet and crawling, well spinning, my way back up around and jumping again. Good times.

Rock48 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

For chrome users, click dismiss on the malware message, hit ctrl-j then click restore

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

Very slow on my computer and kind of confusing. Great graphics though, that is undeniable.

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01am

#lonelyMac

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03am

Chrome marks the download as malicious and won't let me download the file.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03am

Did you upload the smaller version? Both links are still over 200MB and marked as malicious.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

Hey, Chrome blocks this! Try zipping it up with a password, then zipping the zip and password file. Not sure if it works with UE4, but it seemed to work with GameMaker.

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23am

Very cool concept. Would love to see more of it!

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20am

Good game, I laughed at the sign at the end. Graphics were a bit intense, even on lowest mode but then again UE4 is pretty next-gen. Love it and hope more of it comes

K55 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Ok, repackaged it again, saved a few more MB, also hopefully the password protected download should stop chrome from throwing a fit. Pass is "LD2014"

JUJU says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Very pretty, though the lack of gravity around the worlds really saddened me (I'd love to be able to orbit around the planets before shooting myself around).
Other than that, very nice looking game, and surprisingly fun!

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:54am

Looked nice, and the gravity mechanic was pretty fun to play around with. Some music would have added a lot.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:48pm

If I was a dog, I'd howl! LOL Very cool first entry. Good luck :)

K55 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:05am

Some nice person made a music piece for the game! Please don't consider it for the review though, I think that's against the rules. Anyway, its nice, thanks again Joe!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I enjoyed, gravity goes as he pleases

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:24am

Left-right controls are a bit finicky, but I like the concept.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Neat little game. I enjoyed the beautiful graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]