Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ConnGame

by TeamConn - Jam Entry

A (hopefully humorous) text adventure game with a twist that we do not want to spoil in advance (see below if you are impatient). Made by Max Maag, Christian Reuter and Bernd Bohmeier @ Multimedia Communications Lab, TU Darmstadt, Germany. Powered by Unity.

==== Spoilers with all presents(Rot13 - http://www.rot13.com/) ====

Bhe vagrecergngvba bs gur gurzr: Qhevat gur oernxf lbh ner fhccbfrq gb cynl bgure tnzrf sebz bhe wnz ybpngvbaf - gur barf ersreraprq va rnpu jbeyq. Gurer lbh pna trg n cerfrag juvpu nyybjf lbh gb trg shegure va guvf tnzr, juvpu vf gur pbaarpgvat ryrzrag orgjrra gur jbeyqf.

Vs lbh pnaabg svther bhg juvpu bgure tnzrf ner gur barf ersreraprq be va pnfr bs grpuavpny qvssvphygvrf, gur pbqrf ner nf sbyybjf:
1. uggc://jjj.yhqhzqner.pbz/pbzcb/yhqhz-qner-30/?npgvba=cerivrj&hvq=25695 - vpr
2. uggc://jjj.yhqhzqner.pbz/pbzcb/yhqhz-qner-30/?npgvba=cerivrj&hvq=25311 +
uggc://jjj.yhqhzqner.pbz/pbzcb/yhqhz-qner-30/?npgvba=cerivrj&hvq=25914 - 403
3. uggc://jjj.yhqhzqner.pbz/pbzcb/yhqhz-qner-30/?npgvba=cerivrj&hvq=25515 - ureb
4. uggc://jjj.yhqhzqner.pbz/pbzcb/yhqhz-qner-30/?npgvba=cerivrj&hvq=25569 - zbba
5. uggc://jjj.yhqhzqner.pbz/pbzcb/yhqhz-qner-30/?npgvba=cerivrj&hvq=25941 - uryc
6. uggc://jjj.yhqhzqner.pbz/pbzcb/yhqhz-qner-30/?npgvba=cerivrj&hvq=38528 - phor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#53Humor(Jam)3.71
#126Innovation(Jam)3.57
#299Theme(Jam)3.35
#330Fun(Jam)3.12
#416Mood(Jam)3.03
#464Overall(Jam)3.11
#750Graphics(Jam)2.00

Comments

J-d-H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:45am

There seems to be a problem searching for games. A game named "Word1 filler Word2" does not show up searching "Word1 Word2". And looking through >50 games while searching "Word1" or "Word2" is a bit anouying...

ccglp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:30pm

That's interesting, Don't see many text adventures in Ludum dare and it's a good thing to see.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:16am

Wasn't able to finish, it bugged out and gave me a blank screen after I picked up the uranium, but definitely was fun. Having to go hunt down and play other games just to finish this one? Not so fun.

TeamConn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:48pm

There is a known bug, that the game crashes sometimes, but unfortunatly we couldn't reproduce it. It crashes at random points in the game.
For the people that dont want to play the other games, there ist a spoiler with all passwords.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Game looks very interesting, but crashed in the middle of fun =( Idea is very cool tho

X-0r says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Not sure if it was supposed to be that way, but I was able to create more than one portal... a lot of them, actually^^

Great job on the responses of the player character, sometimes it was a bit snappy, but it played it's role just perfectly well :D

And yeah... searching through 2500 games isn't exactly the greatest method, so I admit that I made use of the rot13. It does fit the theme really well, though ^_^

TeamConn says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:22am

You can use the level select if your game crashed and you want to finish regardless. That way you can go back to the last time you went through a portal.

havana24 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:46am

Really liked how the player react with dialogues! :)

Xentira says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:30am

Was nice change of pace, couldnt input anything in the text files in OSX on chrome for some reason.

Ramiel says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:34am

Cool game.
But sometimes the puzzles took me quite a while because I had to talk to the character several times about a specific item and I just couldn't remeber what I had already talked to him about so I had to try every item.
But really one of the best interpretations of the theme.

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:53pm

I really enjoyed this game. Great writing and reactions from the character to your commands.

sephyka says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:54am

Hehe fun and really interesting concept!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]