Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Enderman Invasion

by MacGeekPro - Jam Entry

The endermen are invading our world! Hold off as long as possible.

Controls:
"A" and "D" move camera sideways.
Numbers 1-5 fire cannons respectively.
The game ends if an enderman reaches one of your cannons.
You can only have five cannonballs active at once.
Every 100 kills the game can spawn one more enderman(starts with 5.)

Goodluck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#350Graphics(Jam)3.47
#563Humor(Jam)1.82
#567Audio(Jam)2.37
#641Mood(Jam)2.52
#665Fun(Jam)2.47
#692Overall(Jam)2.70
#727Innovation(Jam)2.08
#755Theme(Jam)1.71

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I really liked the atmosphere and visuals with the rain, and lava.

KiAn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Visually it is very nice, maybe a lot like other games

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Interesting, I think a mouse or touch input might be a little better and could be a cool little phone game.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Simple but fun

elliottd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28pm

feels like there is a delay in firing, not sure if that is a performance problem. game seems a little simplistic. I think it could have used more juice on the cannons (like jumping back and angling up and faster bigger particle effects). good work

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I like the visuals a lot! Gameplay was fun because I'm good at pressing numbers. :) How is it connected to the theme though?

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:30pm

A suggestion would be to have the 5 cannons not all perform the exact same function. For example, the one in the middle could fire a spread shot but take a long time to reload. Ones on the ends could fire lasers that pass through multiple enemies, etc. Just needs some more variation and difficulty to it to make it engaging, IMO.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:05am

Pretty cool, controls were a little difficult to get the hang of but otherwise good game!

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:05am

Interesting idea (not sure what it has to do with the theme though) could be really fun if you put limiters and different enemies in.

RegularSlinky says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:05am

You did a good job with the visuals, but I felt like it was a bit too slow. If it was a little bit faster it would be a lot more fun.

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08am

Fun little game. I really liked the visuals. With a little more work this would make a really good mobile game.

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11am

Perhaps a bit too simple, but still fun. Overall the game is good but I find it doesn't relate to the theme at all, not that it has to being the jam and all

teoacosta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:12am

I wish there was more feedback for when I beat a wave. It felt endless with no hope in sight.

MacGeekPro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:21am

Thanks for all the feedback. I was going to leave this project be but I may push for a mobile version now.

Regarding everyone wondering what this has to do with the
theme, Connected Worlds, the enderman(from Minecraft) have left the End and are attempting to invade the Overworld. You are the first line of defense. :)

IsaacLBalogh: Thanks for the ideas. I'll try to add a few different types of enemies in a later build.

Teoacosta: A new wave starts every 100 kills. I'll add this addition in a future build.

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41am

Great work man! It's very visually polished! Pretty tough too.

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35am

I like it!

vandriver says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06pm

i can't get past the start button. i think it's a unity issue maybe. mouse input doesn't work at all for me on a few unity games.

Autonomous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50pm

very strong visual

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:13am

Nice graphics! I found it kind of easy; I wish the guys moved faster and that I could hit them from far away -- I felt like most of the time I was just waiting to hit e.g. 13335 and kill the whole wave.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Fairly simple game, nice visuals (Although dunno why you went with Endermen instead of something unique :p). Difficulty could do with ramping up a bit faster, got a bit bored around the 200 mark. Also found the 1-5 key input kind of awkward.

Hairein says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Very nice! Enjoyed the play and the controls were easy to learn and use. The graphics fit the scene and setting and I like the overall mood very much.

01101101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Nice graphics! But we didn't get the link to the theme.

MacGeekPro says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:11pm

The enderman have left their world and are attempting to invade the Overworld. Prior Minecraft knowledge is required to understand this. Sorry that I did not explain this in the game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]