Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

the Traveler

by teamrocketbear - Jam Entry

A traveler has happened upon a space station beset with puzzles.

This particular space station orbits outside five worlds with strange rules governing them.

A gateway within the station creates connections to these worlds allowing their exploration, but this connection also causes a temporary transmission of the rules to the player.

Timing these abilities out is the key to navigating the puzzles of the station, good luck.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Theme(Jam)3.94
#58Innovation(Jam)3.81
#215Mood(Jam)3.40
#295Fun(Jam)3.19
#340Overall(Jam)3.29
#458Graphics(Jam)3.19
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

PurpleApes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Interesting game!

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

very cool idea. i realized the stacked states only very late in the game, maybe an introduction level to this mechanic would have helped.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Interesting idea, but the movement felt slow and clunky, and sometimes I got stuck on the wall edge (faulty collision system, probably), somewhat killing the fun. The fact that I didn't know what is the ultimate goal didn't help, either. >.<

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:14am

The game had an interesting atmosphere to it, at first glance i thought it was a game about time travel. It was interesting, however i felt that the movement was abit clunky especially the jump mechanic. Overall I enjoyed it even though I ran into the never dieing pit of doom on the first run :)

Lythom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Hi there ! Here are some feedbacks.
What i liked :
- Animations
- Sound Atmoshpere
- Hub graphics
What imo could be improved :
- Clarity of the objective(s)
- Drawings
- Transitions between animations

Good overall, thanks ofr the game =)

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

Got some very glitchy behavior after falling down on the Wind level. Interesting mechanic, though.

naksrifati says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:59am

Interesting idea, the levels are very interesting, but I think the graphics, and the animation should be imroved, they affect gameplay. And please, make an executable exe file, rather than an install file. Good luck)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I like the use of the theme with the different mechanics, and also the hand drawn graphics.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I really like this mechanic. After I understood what I was supposed to do the game seems very well thought out. I do wish it didn't take quite as long to get the powerups, or maybe give some variety to those levels, and maybe have a checkpoint in the overworld so you don't have to lose all your powerups if you die once. But very fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]