Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Polar Dash

by Cheesefork - Jam Entry

Space. Two planets. Only the blue one to have a warden.

The lonely king sits behind his lonely table.

With only a big red button to accompany him, the lonely king in all his sleepiness lays his forehead right on top of it.

Unfortunately, this causes the two planets to get dangerously close.

Alarmed king jumps on his feet and runs towards the rescue.

Your role is to set things right on two worlds, where things went horribly wrong.

Collect points to score.

- Progressively generated terrain.

- Game speed and difficulty increases over time.

- Controls:

Click/tap anywhere to switch the polarity.

- This game needs at least Flash Player 11.8 to run.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#70Graphics(Jam)4.28
#266Humor(Jam)2.69
#295Mood(Jam)3.25
#312Overall(Jam)3.32
#322Fun(Jam)3.13
#492Theme(Jam)2.92
#513Audio(Jam)2.66
#697Innovation(Jam)2.27

Comments

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36am

Great game! Love the graphics :)

Perjoka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:37am

Great game, very nice graphics.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Beautiful visuals and animations. Good job!

lasecun says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Sorry but for me not work in Linux with chrome. I click in the screen and move very slow. So it's imposible to play

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Very nice! because it is hosted and has it's own site, maybe you should attempt to add online highscores? Obviously mention that they were added afterwards, so people know now to review that.

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Awesome game, great character model and stage
graphics. It could definitely benefit from some
background music and some way of tracking how
far you have managed to run.
Can't go wrong with orange and blue :)

Cheesefork says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Lasecun, we know about the issue and are currently dealing with it. It has something to do with Flash.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41pm

I like the goofy character art and animation ^^
Ran very slowly in firefox, but was mostly ok in chrome.
Would like some score for my efforts ;)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Really great game, congrats

hungyg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Great graphics. This is actually one of the few 3D LD games that actually look good IMHO. Hitboxes are a bit confusing.

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:42pm

nice graphics. gets boring after playing too much

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:45pm

The level looks really nice, but it lacks some background music or ambient score. Playing can be a bit frustrating at the beginning as the character is really really slow (but it gets better as the difficulty increases).
It would be great to see a score/runned distance feature !

brookman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Very nice artwork, simple but well executed.
Background music and a distance counter / record could help to motivate for a longer time.

Maxom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:53pm

The concept is a bit overused, but I really like the animation and the visual style overall!

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Pretty cool ! Good job for the graphics, really awesome! Wish you composed a soundtrack of the same level as the graphics !
But it's a little bit slow on my computer (don't know why ?), else.. well done !

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15pm

It was quite fun while it lasted, but sadly it doesn't even track the running, which leaves little motivation to try further. Plus, it could use more variety.

swich says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Incredibly simple and fun to play game with simple low-poly graphics. Looking forward to a mobile version :)

Stending says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Really laggy for me. Not playable for the moment :/

Cheesefork says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

We're currently working on a low quality mode for older pc configurations. Right clicking the window selecting settings and there checking the use hw acceleration checkbox might help too :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57am

Graphics are very nice, simple and pretty well executed, caracther animations were good too. Just could have a soundtrack.

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:26am

Well this is a pretty fun runner with great graphic design. Colours are neat!
Good job!

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:06am

I love how the character screams haha. It's a great game but i would add checkpoints.

Maek says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:13am

Great grahics.Simple, I like this. One of my favourites.

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:30am

Great graphics, easy to get into, awesome jam! :)

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:40am

Great visuals, art and sounds. It was a bit difficult for me because it takes a moment to react from my mouse click.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:44am

Very solid entry, lovely graphics. Very moody overall

simonnaus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:45am

Very nice! Impressive that you made this in flash!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:20pm

lovely graphics! can't fail with orange+blue combo right? ;)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Loved the way you used simplistic colours. The game reminded me of a more relaxed version of the gravity guy.

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Looks good but it's very slow on my computer (chrome), any tips ?

Cheesefork says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Pressing the Q button lower's the quality but improves FPS.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Nice game, beautiful atmosphere. The concept is not exactly new but you've implemented it in a nice and fresh way.

Starushka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Awesome.

runvs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Beautiful! The Animations and the sound ("whaaarrg" xD) are well executed as well as the whole style and feel of the game. A Highscore or timer plus some music would have been nice.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Very nice art, graphics and animations are looking great. Would be nice if the gameplay was richer, maybe bonuses or different obstacles? All in all very good entry! Great job :)

arzi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:19pm

The art is top notch! I think the gameplay would benefit from some sort of collectibles.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice art! Some sort of distance traveled score thing would have made this a lot better, but other than that it's great!

Otrora says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Well implemented. Graphics are great. It can get a bit laggy at times, don't know if is just me. Well done!

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice game, congrats!

DarkEngineer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Nice game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Beautiful character animation. In my computer it lasted half second since button press until it commited the action, so it was a bit tricky in narrow passages. Well done!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Visuals are nice, but there are a lot of games with similar mechanics...

SiMouth says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Nice VVVVVVariation
Graphics are great, too bad there is not a good piece of music to complete the mood

simplesmiler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:15pm

My chrome wasn't able to run this entry at reasonable performance, but it looks shiny!

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Very nice graphics & sound. Fits well with the theme. However the mechanic is simple and doesnt allow complex level design. Good job.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:18pm

The guy reminds me a bit of Rayman except with arms and legs. Solid entry, could do with some sort of goal.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:27pm

This game reminded me a lot of YOOO Ninja, but this was better. Very good color scheme and it was very challenging! Hardcore gamers will really appreciate this game. I know I did!

parahunter says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Very pretty aesthetics and fluid animation. Mechanic is nothing new.

FrederickK says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:50am

Good mechanic, pretty style and colors, but kinda pointless, no objective or anything to do but evade holes/walls.



Tutiwakalaka

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:11am

Like the story in the description, but unfortunately it's not conveyed anywhere in-game :( Great art style, though! Some collectibles/coins or a score would've been nice, and the sound effects were a bit jarring.

jordanbloemen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:48am

Nice spin on the endless runner

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Art and style are amazing. Really liked it. Keep working on this game.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:53am

Great graphics and funny sounds. A little music might have been nice. :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Colour choices are great, think they work really well, dividing the stage. Just had problems with it running a bit slow at times in Chrome on my laptop.

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

classic runner but good animation.
This type of game need score (and high score) to be more addictive and fun!

akymos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Great game

fil00dl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:54pm

really nice graphics! what 3d flash engine did you use?

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Nice visuals and animation! The character is also strangely reminiscent of the one from the Neverhood :)

John Drury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Great! This game has lovely graphics and animation. Feels fantastic! Would love to see a polished mobile version.

Cheesefork says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

OrangeeZ, we love Neverhood :)
And thanks to all of you for positive feedback, especially from me, the graphics/animations guy. We're aware of shortcomings and will certainly work on this game some more.

tbam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Very cool game, but I had to try it on two diff comps. I only get about 1fps when on my work comp.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Awesome looking and playing game. I love the audio+screenshake when you die! Just missing a score.

foobraco says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:38am

Nice graphics! I loved the visual style.

apiotrw says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:40am

Really nice! VVVVVV + Endless runner

pjimmy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

wow, excellent :)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:48am

Really nice visual effects, great little game!

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:32am

Simple endless runner, but the presentation is far better than I've seen from any of those games.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:07am

Great graphics!! Gameplay is quite good too considering time constraints, though adding items or enemies would probably make it even more challenging. Great job!

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Beautiful art. Dat colors! The character movement is great!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Like the graphics, cool game. Great job!

RFMTeam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:05pm

simple mechanics, but well executed. Teal & orange always look good

ninjascript says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Looks gorgeous, well done!

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Nice game but my laptop gets very hot.

EMAK says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:43pm

great entry, simple but it work great!

H1S2 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:03pm

audio, video and game was out of sync for me.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:05am

This was very fun, but very choppy and slow until I hit Q and it got better (playable)

Cheesefork says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:08am

Hey guys,
by popular demand we have worked on some additions to the game.

New interface buttons - now you can pause the game, mute sound, change graphics quality and go to fullscreen.

New custom made background music that matches the pace.

And the biggest improvement: the score system. By keeping track of your current and highest achieved score, we added the much needed element of motivation.

You score by collecting points, not just running the farthest you can get, making you switch poles in places you previously wouldn’t.

Can you beat our best score of 400? :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:18am

I loved the graphics and music. The gameplay is nothing new but it is well designed. For some reason, the game was very slow and stuttered even on the lowest setting. Firefox if that matters. Still, I enjoyed it. Good job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Very nice mechanics, it's quite addictive, and the audio is not bad.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]