Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Fight 3000

by teamawesome - Jam Entry

Kill alien scum!

A turn-based space-based physics-based alien blast em up from the fourth dimension. Control your space soldiers with the arrow keys (or WSAD), and shoot using the mouse. Right mouse drags the screen, and space ends the turn.

Adventure forth soldier!

Some practical considerations:

Windows users can just download the exe and run it. Chrome seems to not like us and flag us as malicious (we're really not!), but you can click "show all downloads", followed by "recover malicious file" to manually override.

Debian based Linux users should be able to run the source after installing the packages python-pygame python-opengl python-box2d

Thanks for Playing!

We are a super group comprised of previous compo entrants:

eskoala : graphics, sound + misc coding
hnjslat : ai, gameplay
pillbrain : weapons, UI, levels
tompudding : physics, teleporter-trons

comatoes had originally planned to be on the team but decided against it and chose instead to make a very similar game (with the same name) with all our assets. How rude!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#319Humor(Jam)2.54
#472Innovation(Jam)2.88
#505Audio(Jam)2.69
#514Theme(Jam)2.85
#543Overall(Jam)2.97
#553Fun(Jam)2.73
#569Graphics(Jam)2.91
#665Mood(Jam)2.38

Comments

dancingmad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Wait, which one is the original game? this one or the one created by ComaToes??

teamawesome says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:12am

This one! We had an LD gathering and ComaToes decided he wanted to do his own thing, but that it would be OK to use all our graphics and sound :(

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:01am

ah ok :)

Too bad there's no Windows version, i can't rate this one...

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Nice! Reminds me of my Ludum Dare 22 game, with bigger Levels and AI, but without destructible Planets!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Wow i loved the graphics, the startegy turn base game is awesome! Great work :D (i love strategy games :D)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:16am

Quite fun entry, strongly reminds me of Worms. The sounds were very amusing. ^^

JTGaming2012 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:32am

Nice... I think it should be developed further!

Galan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:50am

Gotta say, I see some good potential in these mechanics. It the gameplay were more energetic and the strategy more varied, this could be a lot of fun.

Druid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Yaay, worms in space! :D

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:18am

Fun, interesting how the turn based is per unit rather than for all units...

Rehacked says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:35am

Good game but didnt get the theme in it

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:34am

Pretty good execution of a really ambitious concept.
Flipping while jumping over enemies really "felt right".
Spent a lot of time struggling with aiming/jumping/teleporting, and not really having a good idea what was going on.
Weapons could be made more satisfying with more effects (explosions, knockback, etc) and screenshake.

teamawesome says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:35am

Rehacked: Planets are worlds. They are connected by teleporters. It's not the most sophisticated take on the theme, but there it is!

creative630 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:16am

Cool game, I really liked the main game song. The only gripe I had was making the fighting a little less, "he who gets the first shot in wins".

gnuwind says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:00pm

good game I think.

Acuity says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I expected more realistic gravitation when it said "physics-based", but not bad. Reminds me of Gravitee Wars without the cool projectile equations.

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:16am

On mac, couldn't play :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]