Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Klarb Procreation Rift

by RandomNameGenerator - Jam Entry

Help the Klarb nation meet up from across space and time and procreate to continue their race!...hopefully.

Instructions:
----------------
Navigate the left and right klarbs across the rift on rift-tiles that disintegrate as you step on them! Get to the end to hopefully have the klarbs get it on and procreate...or else they'll have to try again. And it could prove more difficult!


Controls:
-----------------------------
-WASD Moves your Left (male) Klarb.
Space to jump.

-UpDownLeftRight arrows move your Right (female) Klarb.
Right Ctrl to jump

-ESC does a "Quick" Retry of the current level.


Team Members: Leo Jerez, James Wolf, Matthew Johnson, Viktor Dikov, Yalmer Quiroz, Justin Reinman


POST-COMPO:
Added Xbox Controller support.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#41Humor(Jam)3.80
#99Theme(Jam)3.76
#157Fun(Jam)3.45
#202Innovation(Jam)3.38
#210Overall(Jam)3.45
#248Mood(Jam)3.33
#341Audio(Jam)3.17
#513Graphics(Jam)3.03

Comments

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:57am

Really liked the core gameplay mechanic. How great graphics as well.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:51am

Gameplay was great, and this was the first to actually make me LOL. well done :)

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Fun gameplay and funny backstory!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Best intro ever! Haha, great job!

gnx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:53am

This game you can clearly play a lot of ways. I'm too impatient for it and just race over the edge :D
Nicely done visuals and audio, and the control feels solid.

Good job.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:08am

Top marks just for the backstory ;) Fun game!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:13am

Intro was hilarious and the gameplay was challenging. Well done!

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:08am

Nice little game. Thank you for your entry.

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:15am

Nice game, congrats!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Great game, really tense once the blocks behind you start falling! Fits the theme well and is really innovative!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Amazing story. challenging game :) nice work!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Nice game. I ended up moving one character a bit then moving the other a bit and just went back and forth.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Haha. That's a good technique! But would not work past about lvl 4. (The Tiles fall faster and forces you to move forward) Thanks for playing :)

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

This game has improved my eye-thumb coordination (used an xbox controller). I had to resist the urge to rage quit a few times along the way though. I appreciated the story you fit in. Nice job.

kaa says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Yeah! This is nice! Good game mechanic + a lot of humor. I feel ambidexterity

Aglavra says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:59pm

The story is told with humor, but still seems too long for me. Otherwise, I liked the game, would be glad to see more diverse levels

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:27am

Bow Chicka Wow Wow! I loved the intro, death to Klieber! But then, why did they have to turn gay?! Great game and humor, well done!

Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Funny story, cool game. I included it in part 23 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/KSNN8ZCA9kQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]