Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Swich!

by swich - Jam Entry

Endless runner where 2 characters run on their own in separate worlds and your only job is to swap them. Each character can overcome different obstacles. It's trickier than it sounds!

Controls: space bar to switch characters

Code by @blade_sk, Art by Matus Gavalier, Game Design by @marcelklimo
Music is just a free to use loop, as we didn't have a musician, so please don't rate that part.

Windows only.

PS: We are aware of the misspelling in the title. It is intentional ;)

WARNING: Our website is down. Please use the Windows link to download the game directly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#74Fun(Jam)3.67
#116Innovation(Jam)3.59
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#284Theme(Jam)3.38
#309Mood(Jam)3.22
#334Graphics(Jam)3.50
#375Audio(Jam)3.08
#413Humor(Jam)2.35

Comments

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22pm

The game keeps you aware of quickly changing between characters, very fun and difficult

TideS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24pm

I loved gameplay, you should release it in iOS/Android.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Cool! Made my brain hurt at first but I think I got the hang of it. It's a little annoying when the jumper jumps automatically and dies because of it but other than that this was fun. Clear gameplay and graphics!

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27pm

I think this is my new favourite of the ones I've played (so far)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27pm

The web link is just a download for the .exe ;(

Love the idea though.

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Really great entry, fun mechanics and really difficult for only having one button! :)

TautNerve says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:17am

Difficult yet interesting gameplay, it was a little odd
for me at first but I got used to it. Sometimes it is not
reallly obvious which character is required to overcome
a certain area and even though I had time to switch I was
not sure what to do, but other than that it is a really fun
and enjoyable entry. Good job with the theme as well

Tosic says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:18am

It is quite difficult because brain can hardly track two moving bodies, but it is quite awesome!

Code White says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:02am

Really difficult game - requires loads of concentration. Nice graphics, and really original. Top score of 29m!

yodamaster says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:20am

A "web" link should be playable in the browser, not go to a download.

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:28am

Ohh nice.
And hard to beat.
Dual endless runner.
Good idea.

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:42am

Sorry for the confusion with the web link, renamed it to "website", there's currently only the Windows version. -blade

arazim6 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:07am

The procedural generation of the levels is very nice. Good job.

majorcrampas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Cool style, cool art. Love the music.
It's a bit difficult to simultaneously keep track of both screens, but I don't know how to make it easier. Maybe you could build in a progression in difficulty. ;)

Xanjos says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Pretty hard but really fun to play. A very good twist on the endless runner genre. My only complaint however is that the default resolution is a bit too small for a desktop game (Seems very smartphone sized to me)

Sandcrawler says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:14am

It is difficult and has some more depth than I thought at first. The first few attempts I wasn't sure what the point of the shooter hovering, and then my jumper would fall into a hole.

I recorded my playthrough of it, and it will go up on September 8th, http://www.youtube.com/user/Ythmevge

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]