Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

ConnWars

by Raphael - Jam Entry

ConnWars is about conquering the galaxy.

You and 499 of your people decide to settle on an unoccupied planet. Unfortunately, so does the evil Orange Population, and they want to eat you alive.

Make connections between planets to transfer people from one to another. Occupy, populate, and attack other planets to win.

But beware. If your planet becomes overpopulated, it will enter civil war (chaos mode). People will start dying out until all there is left is half of the population.

Instructions:
To begin the game, select any planet to occupy. You will start with a population of 500 on that planet. Every populated planet has natural growth, so population gradually increases. In order to link to other planets, click a blue planet, then another planet (of any color). If you connect a blue planet to another blue planet (or a grey planet). Your units will be transferred from one to the other. They transfer more slowly if the connection is longer. If a blue planet is connected to a red planet, units of both sides will deplete until one is completely exterminated. The goal is to completely wipe out red units. The population of red planets cannot be seen, and the only red planet connections that can be seen are ones that connect red and blue planets.

Developers:
Raphael Gontijo Lopes
Maximillian von Briesen
Aniruddha Nadkarni

Art:
Raphael Gontijo Lopes

Music:
Altan Stalker

Testers:
Matthew Coleman

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#42Theme(Jam)3.97
#240Innovation(Jam)3.29
#368Fun(Jam)3.06
#443Audio(Jam)2.89
#473Mood(Jam)2.93
#543Overall(Jam)2.97
#580Humor(Jam)1.69
#690Graphics(Jam)2.47

Comments

Raphael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04am

Instructions:
To begin the game, select any planet to occupy. You will start with a population of 500 on that planet. Every populated planet has natural growth, so population gradually increases. In order to link to other planets, click a blue planet, then another planet (of any color). If you connect a blue planet to another blue planet (or a grey planet). Your units will be transferred from one to the other. They transfer more slowly if the connection is longer. If a blue planet is connected to a red planet, units of both sides will deplete until one is completely exterminated. The goal is to completely wipe out red units. The population of red planets cannot be seen, and the only red planet connections that can be seen are ones that connect red and blue planets.

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Unfortunately the game didn't seem to run correctly. Graphics seemed to be out of place, You'd connect 2 worlds but the line would be all the way to the left in the middle of no where. for example. I like the concept though. 5 stars for innovation.

Kojan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Hello !
First of all I tried your game on Opera and it didn't work. So I tried on Chrome and it was already better. However there is still a lot of bugs and my population didn't want to transfer from the main planet anymore.
Sadly I can't play a whole game, but the concept is innovative and it could be really fun it worked properly

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13pm

I liked the idea and feels like a nice resource management game! I hit a bug where the connections are a bit off (using chrome). I took a screenshot so I can beter illustrate it: http://i.imgur.com/aC4npa1.png.

While the bug is important, it still allowed me to understand the game mechanics and play the game a bit.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37pm

I love the idea, it feels like Eufloria :)

That being said, it was brutally difficult! Haha, never gonna win this one.

Lyszie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I really like the game and the idea. I can't beat the orange populations, but I had fun playing anyway. I'm playing on Chrome and didn't come across any bugs (or at least not that I have noticed)

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I really want to like this game and I've played it probably the most out of all the entries so far but something seems off about it. Are you sure it's calculating everything correctly? I tried to take over a small gray planet with like 5 of my huge planets and nothing ever happened. It would be nice if I could see where the AI was targeting too.

Raphael says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:09pm

@everyone Thanks so much for all this great feedback. We only tested the game in chrome, and we didn't run across any of these graphical errors. Once the Jam is over, we will test the game on more browsers and work on porting so everything is working (hey, maybe we will make a mobile version!)

@Kojan Yeah, for now, please stick to Chrome. If anyone else finds population transfer errors, please report the conditions in which they happened. We are aware of a couple. When multiple connections are set up, there is a chance one of them won't work. If you're trying to connect to a grey planet and it just. won't. turn. blue, that might be because red is also making connections to it (in a future update, these connections will be visible, if you also have a connection to this grey planet).

@psychonull I don't know why you're getting this error... Chrome should be the best browser to play it. We tested this on Ubuntu's and MacOS's Chrome. Are you by any chance using windows? In any case, we will test more stuff and work on fixing all these graphical errors.

@Cake&Code I am definitely checking EuFloria out... Looks awesome.

@Razoric Yeah, we found that bug and we will work on fixing it. It only happens sometimes, but it's enough to make or break the game... We want to tweak the function that transfers population so that it is more dependent on current giverPlanet population. Right now, we can have two planets fighting for a grey planet and they will have equal power in the battle even if the difference in population is huge. About the connections' visibility: we made the AI connections invisible on purpose. That said, we will make connections AI -> grey planet visible IF you also have a connection to that planet. We will also tweak the scaling of the planets so it changes more when you have smaller populations. This should make it easier to identify the connections A.I. is making even if the connections aren't visible.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Slightly reminds me of my own game (: Very nice music!

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:04pm

I connections where off (as mentioned by others). And it seems I cannot make any connections to enemy overpopulated worlds (I couldn't finish while enemy had only 2 worlds left...

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Music is nice. I couldn't figure out how to play the game for the first round or two. Interesting start to a game. It would be interesting to see the game expanded upon. I didn't like losing withing 2 minutes every time. Maybe add a couple of easy tutorial levels?

Freudian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Unfortunatly there seems to be some sort of stalemate error, you go into civil war mode and then so does the enemy, constantly wthious being able to attack of be attacked. endlessly, good game and idea though, theres bount to be a few bugs here and there..

Raphael says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

@Freudian Our main issue with this year's jam was real life getting in the way. We basically did no work at all on Sunday so we didn't really have much time to play, balance, and fix bugs. We also want to fix a lot of stuff on the A.I. (right now, it's not that *intelligent*). But it's safe to say everyone here is really proud and satisfied with what we have. That being said, it's an beta at best. It is bound to be filled with bugs and, again, the balancing is *way* off.

vogon101 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Really like it, great job

Raphael says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:25am

Guys, I pushed a lot of bug fixes and game balancing improvements. They can be found on the second Source link. Unfortunately, I couldn't push to gh-pages and make it playable online (because I can't modify the game until after the dare's voting is over).

If you like the game and want to play the latest version, you can clone our repo on github and run index.html from your local file system. Once voting is over, I will make the latest version playable online in the same link, so if you don't know/want to use git, you can check back in a few weeks ;)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:49pm

well done

Glaydur says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Damn this game is hard as fuck. Very nice mechanic though! Still hard as fuck! I did hit a bug though where connections just stopped transferring people.

dhargan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:03pm

a simple yet incredible strategy game. good job!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Good idea, but planets get overpopulated very soon, and I can't wield a war against the enemy's overpopulated planets so I can't wipe the enemy out. Also, there was a grey planet I couldn't populate from 13 of my planets, screenshot: https://www.dropbox.com/s/me8mjgwh2y60l5t/Raphael.png?dl=0

Raphael says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:34am

A lot of these "bugs" have been fixed in the current version. Unfortunately, we can't really update the game on here because that would be against the rules. If you want to play the current version, you can clone our git repo. Just go to the "Source (Post-Jam Development)" link and get the link for you to clone the repo. Then run the local index.html in your browser (Chrome pls!) and enjoy

CoolIron says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Nice job! But looks like I got a bug :( We fought for one planet and it became gray and I couldn't do anything with that. Also, in late game it's almost impossible to take or lose planets.

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:29pm

I like the idea. But I finally get stucked with a grey planet without "win" state... Good music

Raphael says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:02pm

@ajopart yeah. That bug has been fixed. I'll update the live web version as soon as voting ends (in 4h)

Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:02pm

There's indeed a bug that puts the game into a "stale" state with one gray planet left that no one can get. The AI is probably doing pretty much the same I'm doing without much success as no transfer seems to be happening.

The idea is nice though. I love games with a simple mechanic that actually translates into challenging and fun gameplay. Congratz!

Raphael says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 3:33am

Thank you all so much for playing and voting for us on the jam! Now that voting is officially over, I have updated the playable version with the bug fixes and improvements we were working on ever since the jam ended. We truly appreciate all this great feedback and we are really happy that so many of you liked our game.

See you guys in December!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]