Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Duel at the Apocolypse

by JBM - Jam Entry

Fight for survival in the wake of the massive beast Kollosus as it devours you. at the end, the Apocolypse, who will have the honor of being the last one to go.

4 players supported(enabled by plugging in 4 controllers.)
Player 1 and 2 can play with arrow-keys/wasd-keys respectivly.

Made by @JoeyGames @Volantk @martinkvale

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#278Innovation(Jam)3.21
#288Audio(Jam)3.28
#368Graphics(Jam)3.42
#372Fun(Jam)3.05
#423Mood(Jam)3.00
#424Overall(Jam)3.16
#704Theme(Jam)2.11
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:51am

Cute idea! It does seem like a fun thing to play with a friend once you've had too many beers. Push them off the world in game and away from the keyboard IRL? Does it have a score counter and an end state? That could be easily added anyway. Good job!

JBM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06am

Hey Oana:) We didnt have time for score counter but it was the idea yes :D

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07am

Great visuals! Btw, is there way to fail? It seems there is endless respawn.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:10am

great idea, but it would be nice if there was a point for going on, a point where you can kill the monster would be nice or you could ad a point system and some lives.

JBM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:53am

@nuclear napalm
Its no fail state atm, we ended up with not enough time left to implement fail/win or points so its just some sort of endless runner. A bossfight would have been awesome, and I really wanted to get in more tracks(we had like 6-7 different):P

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Nice game, congrats!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:38am

Nice aesthetics. I'm not sure what the point of the weapons was, there never seemed to be anything to fight...

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:27am

Awesome graphics/music and ambience. On the other hand I couldn't try it with anyone else so I guess I'm missing the most fun part of it.

Also, when I died sometimes I got respawned on top of some flames, so I died rather fast :(

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:33pm

This game looks like it would be best suited for more players! I did have fun on my own, and I like the art style you guys have going for the game. I played for a while, but sort of wish there was a way to fail/win.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]