Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Starcular

by LuisDC - Jam Entry

Game created by alvivi and LuisDC.

Music:

Cowboy Glitch (borja vs. go1dfish)
by spinningmerkaba
featuring borja, go1dfish

ccmixter.org/files/jlbrock44/33623

CC Attribution (3.0)

-------------------------------

Controls:
Move: AD and Arrows for non QWERTY keyboards.
Jump: W and Arrow Up
Suicide: S and Arrow Down (don't use suicide or you will die)

Esc: go to menu
P: Pause
R: Restart level (importan if you fall)

--------------------------------


Platformer game where two worlds has collided into another one. There is no space for all three worlds, so the two invaders has to distribute their time, what will cause some troubles to our hero.

We hope you enjoy our very first game on a LD.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#62Theme(Jam)3.86
#113Innovation(Jam)3.60
#138Humor(Jam)3.19
#151Overall(Jam)3.57
#162Fun(Jam)3.44
#236Audio(Jam)3.38
#254Graphics(Jam)3.69
#309Mood(Jam)3.22

Comments

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:54am

Nice fun game. I did get stuck on a level where you had to jump three jumps, and time them perfectly. It was quite hard, and I gave up :(

I did have fun though.

Fanttum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09am

Really cool idea, it got kinda annoying having to wait for the worlds to change, but maybe that is part of the charm

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:13am

I like the colors :)

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:14am

Are those toilets I am jumping into? Nice use of theme.

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17am

Neat game, the switching worlds was really neat, much more innovative than other platformers

hyouko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

Rhythm platforming! Neat art, challenging, and I dug the tunes. Made me think of 90s platformers.

Why no auto-reboot on death/fall-off-the-world? I can understand a suicide button, but it makes no sense to make the player responsible for this functionality.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48am

Great polish and creativity. The art and sound really complimented each other. The mechanics of the gameplay are cool too, with the changing worlds going in and out of phase.

My only critique is that it can feel a little sluggish - waiting for worlds to change combined with the sort-of slower character move speed and muggy jumpability. On the other hand, I liked that there was some strategy involved. I like the idea of slowing down to plan your strategy combined with executing twitchy jumping.

In any case, I thought it was very polished and solid overall.

taocayo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:22am

Liked the art and style a lot! The concept is really fun too. Had me laughing out loud :D

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51am

Very cool idea and fun graphics. Its seems a runner but it has a lot of depth. Nice concept and good job!

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:36pm

interesting timing mechanic. it's a bit troublesome when the important ui element gets obscured by the platforms. also that star man has a massive bulge lol

alvivi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06pm

@mechabit starCULAR The name comes from the hero, there was no time to redraw :P

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51pm

The idea is great and fits the theme, plus some of the level design tricks are original. Two things that can be improved are:
1st: Failure detection (add a collider in the bottom to detect deaths)
2nd: A better integrated color bar. I died several times because i couldn't see the bar and the map at the same time.

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33pm

This was a pretty cool idea, and a fun challenge. The art was nice, and I liked the concept. Music was pretty catchy also, great job! :)

LuisDC says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:09am

Thank you all for your comments and feedback :)

@Scott Baker Yes you are XD

@hyouko The suicide button was like another challenge. A button that people should avoid to press. About auto-restart, we thought that letting people decide when to restart would give them more time to see how to succeed or just to take a few seconds to breath. Anyway thank for your suggestions and we will consider it in case we continue developing the game :)

@spitfire87 Thanks, we will think about that. maybe a background bar or something :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Nice gameplay take on the theme, you just shold put a death zone in the bottom hole so when the char falls it restart the game.

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Good idea and presentation; the suicide button :D
I'm having a hard time to win, maybe I'm just bad.

bb_buster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:44pm

I like the concept, it's pretty cool if not a little difficult.

I did get encounter a little issue on the first level were sometimes I'd hit some kind of small wall that would stop the character just before getting on to a piece of floor from one of the worlds. I could jump over it but it was just odd as it didn't happen all the time

Anyway, a very cool concept that would be awesome with some more polish. Good job on the game :)

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Really enjoyed this! I love the tension between watching the world indicator and planning your next moves. The quirky soundtrack is bang on and the sound effects tie in nicely. Very challenging. I'd perhaps have liked the player to move a bit quicker but hey, that's splitting hairs. Presentation superb

rhaasken says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:20am

Challenging, fun, and addictive! Great art and music too!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:47am

Pretty fun. The music is nice.

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:38am

So much fun and really challenging too (at least for me, who is rhythm impaired). Really enjoy the music, graphics and the whole atmosphere. Great job!

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:25am

Great game.Good job on this!

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Very nice entry ! original, cute, well done. The principle is quite similar to my entry, but way more colorful ! Keep improve it, it deserves its chance !

Catmoo says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Really cool idea although a little tricky :)

Sep 16, 2014 @ 3:51am

Cool concept, and nice graphics! I included it in part 29 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/dd4UkBLKHXI

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]