Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Overpopulated

by CoolIron - Jam Entry

This game requires MonoGame. You can download it here: http://www.monogame.net/downloads/

Your goal is to open portals on planets.
To open the portal you need to clean planet from enemies and touch the portal.
More opened portals - more gear for you!
Your ship will respawn at your home planet.

Controls:

1,2,3 - switching weapons
WASD - movement/flying
Space - attack/selection in menu
Left control - shield
Left shift - sprint
E - use
Mouse wheel - zoom
Tab - map
N - mute sound
M - mute music

The game was made by Pixel Ocelot and sgtLeerk.
This is ours first entry :) Hope you'll like it!
Sorry for shitty graphics D:

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#221Humor(Jam)2.83
#343Theme(Jam)3.24
#417Innovation(Jam)2.98
#456Mood(Jam)2.95
#487Fun(Jam)2.85
#515Overall(Jam)3.02
#535Audio(Jam)2.57
#648Graphics(Jam)2.66

Comments

naksrifati says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47am

The gameplay is very cool. But the difficulty is a little to high and flying in space is also hard as hell. Overall I feel thet the game can be somthing amathing. :)

DeathPidgeon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49am

When I open it, a window immediately pops up and says LD30 stopped working.

ndebruyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09am

the game is too big

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:11am

naksrifati, thanks. Yeah, AI and battle were implemented in last hours so we had no time to improve it :)

DeathPidgeon, do you have MonoGame installed? Also OpenAl may be required.

ob6160 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:44am

Fun gameplay, quite hard but overall a great game! Love the planet 'view' :)

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:55am

I loaded it about 3 times and struggled to see the ui due to the color of the text. I also could not scroll once I tabbed into the world menu. If you make a post-compo version fixing bugs I would happily play this again!

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Capitals, I'm sorry for inconvinience and thanks for trying! We will make post-compo version, but a bit later. We're gonna to improve UI and AI with combat in general. I'll make a blog post with link to it and will notify you :)

chipcaramel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I smell potential in this. I dig the gameplay.

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Very hard game, but still quit fun 8)

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Really great. Exploring the small galaxy is fun. The beginning is very hard, but it gets easier after the first conquered planet.

Andro Dars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Having a background that is not just a uniform colour could help with manoeuvring in space. Speed is impossible to perceive unless you're zoomed out so much that you can't see your ship.

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:04am

Wonderful! I played to completion. It was frustrating trying to nab the first planet - took me forever to run into one without laser enemies - but after that I loved it. The space travel was particularly fun, though some indicator for which planets had already been or had yet to be conquered would be nice. Several times I lost track of what I'd taken and accidentally revisited planets I'd already taken. I got a message saying I'd earned the third weapon but I couldn't seem to switch to it, the 3 key didn't work. Definitely my favorite entry so far.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54am

chipcaramel, LudusPactum, Satyre, thank you guys!

Andro, thank you for idea with background :) We'll add it in post-compo version.

madk, thank you! Third weapon message is my bad. Third weapon is grenade and it's given after one more opened portal. I've just messed up the condition :(

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:15am

this doesn't open...

CoolIron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:24am

GameDevExtreme, you need MonoGame to launch our game. Download link in description.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:42am

Very interesting in terms of exploration. Graphics is silly, but somewhat pleasing :)

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Fighting feels really strange. After crashing into a planet I got a little kerbal space program feel :D
It would be nice to see in which direction I'm flying and pointing even if I'm zoomed out.
An indicator if you've succesfully cleared the planet and the shortest path to the teleporter would've been nice.
An indicator to my ship would've been also nice.
Good idea but I thought this was a race against the clock game and once the planet is overpopulated it would be game over but this was not the case.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Kayelgee, we have that idea with overpopulation, but haven't got enough time to think over it.

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Neat game. I love the idea of going between the planets. I wanted to play more, but it is really hard to control the ship when it is out in space. It looks like the "w" key moves forward according to the local orientation of the ship, which is very difficult to see when the ship is very small. If the "wasd" keys were globally oriented, it would be a lot easier to play.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Couldn't get it to start. :-(

CoolIron says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

jomomomo, you need MonoGame to launch our game. Download link in description.

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Oh look, a police box! ;) I liked this little story!.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:10am

Love the idea, good job. Only thing is that the space was a bit deep and empty...

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:46am

Awesome music, actually pretty good graphics. Good job!

CoolIron says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:41pm

udo, police box? :)
Tanser, thank you! Yeah, we didn't implemented much things for the space.

ChuiGum, thank you! :) Yeah, Kevin's music is truly awesome! Check his site for more: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/
You won't regret it :)

StMatn says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Nice game, but really hard.
To be honest I was too frustrated to continue, after I hardly arrived at a planed and was instantly slaughtered afer leaving the ship ten times in a row.
I only once managed to survive more that 10 seconds on another planet.
Well besides that the concept is really interesting.
Nice work!

CoolIron says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:26pm

StMatn, thank you :) I'm sorry for frustrating expirience. We haven't done any balancing and yeah, first planet is hard as hell, but after that you'll get lazor and that's where fun begins :)

DarkCart says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Good job, this game looks polished!

kblaney says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Neat idea. I like the "Powers of 10" zooming aspect (bet you pulled some neat tricks for that one) but I really wish the difficulty curve was a little more forgiving.

Anti says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Fun game! But very difficult.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]