Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Azuroj

by Buttsteam - Jam Entry

NOTE: The entire team was on Windows, which means our Mac and Linux versions are completely untested (sorry about that!!)

TO RUN THIS GAME YOU WILL NEED EITHER XNA REDIST (Windows) OR MONO (Mac/Linux)

The two worlds of Azu and Roj have collided, causing both worlds to slowly destroy each other. The only hope is Mike, the one person who (by mistake) touched The Thing, and can phase between the two worlds.

Mike must use his power to platform to victory and separate Azuroj.

The BUTTSTEAM:
Wyatt "NotExplosive" C.
Path of AI
Mitchell A.
Kristin M.
Cudnim "IntAu" T.

Special thanks to Elisee Maurer for his engine CraftStudio, which made this game possible.

BTW, as a reward for reading the description, mouse over our avatars in the in game credits.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#173Fun(Jam)3.42
#227Theme(Jam)3.50
#248Overall(Jam)3.41
#261Humor(Jam)2.70
#329Audio(Jam)3.19
#354Mood(Jam)3.13
#474Graphics(Jam)3.15
#614Innovation(Jam)2.58

Comments

VanMerwan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:46am

This game is sooo enjoyable.
The concept is simple, but the level design is mastery. Well done difficulty curve, not to short or too long. One puzzle in the game makes me feel so intelligent. The music fits well.

I end up using my right hand for moving left, right and jump. Swapping color with the left hand while you use the left hand for moving isn't... handy.

Really, great entry. The fun is high.

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59am

Nice style!

Florent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02am

The inertia is rather annoying for the precision platformer sequences, but very nice game !

Cosmonautas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:04am

Nice Job

kibertoad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08am

Got stuck in the floor after a leap of faith thing. Other then that, your level design is sexy.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:40am

"Program CraftStudioRuntime stopped working"
Any idea what could cause it? I can't play the game if it doesn't run for me. o.o'

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54am

Replying to your comment on my game: I think it was because I hosted it in dropbox. Try the new mirror link and see if that helps :).

Thanks for the heads-up, I'll check your game out later in the evening when I have time!

fraxken says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Nice game! (fraxken) I like it, good job.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

The story and gameplay fit the theme very nicely, and the level design is great. My only gripe would be that the player movement felt a tad too sluggish, but otherwise it's an excellent game!

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:08pm

@sunflower, make sure that the XNA Redist is installed. Or that the correct mono runtime is installed if you're on Mac or Linux

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00pm

I installed, but it still won't work. Trying to open it, nothing happens, then it crashes or something. >.<
Too bad, because the game really looks like something... :<

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Those three hours spent on coding an ass were probably the most meaningful moments anyone has ever experienced. Interesting victory screen too. Too bad for Mike though.

It's a solid entry, although the controls could be tighter and the difficulty more consistent (I had most problems with some of the early levels, maybe I just got good). Good job!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:59am

I like the game's name azul/rojo. The input is terribly handled, the inertia is very uncomfortable to play with. I really REALLY liked your level design though. I stopped playing in disarray because I got stuck in a wall and when I continued the game there were no colored blocks

SoupWithBits says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:00am

Reminded me a bit of Guacamelee, which I enjoyed.
So I enjoyed this too :D

sikosis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Sorry it wouldn't run for me. As soon as it starts I get "CraftStudioRuntime has stopped working". Running on Windows 7 SP1.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Requires a mono-framework. Whatever that is.

aroymart says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:47am

This game is really fun! I love the aesthetics, minus the player's slow acceleration. otherwise though, the sound graphics and gameplay were all very nice!

mrjohnson22 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:38am

This was an interesting execution of a "world-swapping" mechanic, because it has a pretty heavy emphasis on motor/platforming skills rather than just puzzle skills. And it works very well! It sometimes even feels like a Mega Man block puzzle, except the player controls the blocks. The level design is doubly impressive, then, since it implements a great mix of mental and physical challenges that mesh together beautifully. The visual style is pretty cool, too...I love how each world's moon is different.

Complaints: having the swap key right next to the movement keys is really uncomfortable, and floors are a bit too slippery for a game that demands precision jumps. But neither of those are major issues. Nice job!

CuddyTurn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:22am

I was lead level designer and I am so happy about the feedback for level design on this game! I put a lot of work into it thinking of gimmicks that can be used in the game. My friend also told me I can be a game designer, which I will.

Arakade says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Good fun. I actually liked the momentum-based platforming.

Like others, I found Q poorly placed. I must admit I got disheartened and gave up on the level that introduced save-point. Kept failing the bit below the save-point (jumped onto a platform with blue spikes then down past a red-spike onto a red platform). Perhaps 23:30 is too late for platforming but I felt moving the save-point down there would have been the more obvious frustration point. ?

But all in all, fun stuff. A little tuning and I'd come back for a retry. Thanks!

p.s. My game finished uploading if you fancied re-evaluating? :-)

klianc09 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Great platformer with great graphics and good music.
Just the controls annoyed me, as it is really hard to go left while switching worlds (I would have liked W for jumping and Space for switching worlds), and the intertia makes it really hard to control.
But besides that it makes for a really enjoyable game, good job!

romandtom says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Very nice game! I got stuck inside a block in the middle of the game, so unfourtantly I coudln't finish the game.
But I enjoyed the part that I've played :)
A very good idea and fun game !

jprogman says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:59pm

I strongly suggest to allow players to customize their controls because the current layout is awkward. Using the same hand for moving and switching colors doesn't feel right. One hand should only control the movement while the other hand controls the colors and the jumps.
The platform physics really coexists with Super Mario Bros, don't cha think? :)

Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Really well thought out game. The controls were really bad for my left hand though - maybe make W jump and space change colours - But it was so good I played through the discomfort.
Also, sometimes you get stuck in walls and have to respawn.

Aborysa says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Luved the game :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]