Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

NoLife Team :: Connected Worlds

by nolife-team - Jam Entry

NoLife Team:
> Morco
> Alex
> Robert

Jam Entry:
----------
Connected Worlds Game

Game idea:
----------
You are little robot in 2 parallel universes, one normal world (bottom) and one virtual world (top).
You try to survive as much as possible by avoiding obstacles and by taking bonuses.

Gameplay:
---------
You must survive in both worlds same time. If any of them dies, is game over. You have one life only.
On top world, you can draw barriers and platforms to help you block obstacles.

Controls:
> W / arrow up: jump top
> S / arrow down: jump bottom
> space: delete all drawings
> left mouse click+drag+release: draw platform
> right mouse click+drag+release: draw barrier

You should avoid:
> Top: bullets, lasers, fireballs
> Bottom: water holes
> Both worlds: left side of the screen

Pickups:
> phantom: makes top robot invulnerable for a duration
> energy for barrier: allows you to draw barrier
> energy for platform: allows you to draw platform


About project:
--------------
DISCLAIMER: we do not own any of the images/sounds/fonts. They are free resources from the web.
The game was created using Unity4 free version.
We decided to keep the code private for future use.




We hope you enjoy our idea :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#184Innovation(Jam)3.44
#236Theme(Jam)3.48
#291Humor(Jam)2.63
#354Mood(Jam)3.13
#360Overall(Jam)3.26
#392Audio(Jam)3.04
#425Fun(Jam)2.96
#484Graphics(Jam)3.12
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

LuxPerpetua says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:30am

Nice game, would be nice if e.g. after 300 points environment changed.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Great idea :) More energy spawns would be appreciated ;)

danidre14 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Great game, nice gameplay!

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Awesome concept. Great job!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:44pm

I found it a bit tricky, but I really loved the concept. It was very cool, and fun. Great job!

teamawesome says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Fantastic idea, very frustrating!

romandtom says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Great idea and great game.
The level design could be better, but for the time you had it's great :)
Hope to see a full game of this :) Great concept

PeerPlay says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Very nice game, fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]