Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Annex Kharon

by headchant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Annex Kharon got lost in the STYX-Sector. The guanxi teleportal network is our only hope to gain resources and new tech. Survive long enough to find a way home through one of these wormholes.

Look at the highscores online: http://headchant.com/annex/

(This is very much a broughlike.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Overall4.07
#46Audio3.80
#48Mood3.89
#79Fun3.79
#121Theme3.85
#140Graphics3.88
#189Innovation3.67
#316Humor2.76

Comments

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:40am

Love the intro, awesome graphics, great gameplay!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44am

Second on the leaderboard! :)
Fun game. One of the few I've come across with a good tutorial.

dvdking says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47am

Great game. I like that you have voice in game, It feels so much more professional with it.
The gameplay is fine. I wish ship had more means to defend itself.

I really loved sound.

Online leaderboard seems to work.

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54am

My favorite game so far! Actually loving the shait out of it! Please release a post-compo version on itch, I'd love to buy it.

jthistle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:54am

Nice music

zorfmorf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:36am

Under linux, the online highscore page is empty and prints the following error to console:

Error: highscore/client_v1.lua:42: attempt to concatenate upvalue 'apikey' (a nil value)

headchant says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56am

@zorfmorf: I will upload a linux version soon. (the source version left out the keys)

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56am

Great game ! The graphics are great and the plot also, the gameplay is very nice.
The leaderbards work without problem

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

OMFGBBQ. Great music, awesome art, fun strategic gameplay and an online leaderboard. #2GUDATLIFE. When I'm reduced to using acronyms and bad hash tags to express myself, it's because I'm really impressed. A+

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Ha. 105 Points. Leaderboard works here.
Wonderful game. The best I have seen today.
Good mix of mechanics and the player gets eased into the game. Fabulous presentation.

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Nice music and art. I also like the highscore function.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Wow, this is really excellent. The intro is awesome, the gameplay is great, and the game itself is so polished and complete. I am amazed that you did this in 48 hours.

rjhunter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Wonderful. Genuinely fun – simple enough to understand, challenging enough to keep me interested.

The tutorial and speech make this feel very polished, too.

4sap says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

This game is hella good. The face at the beginning had me laughing for a good couple minutes (not sure if that was intentional). Really liked the strategy. An online leaderboard! Best LD game ive played so far

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Stylish graphics, love that music

w84death says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I like it. Loved the mood and old school look of the game :)

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Cool graphics and I love the speech synth :D

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Great game with a great use of the theme. The escape was surprisingly tense!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Oops! Wrong window. This game's great as well though :)

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:55pm

This plays like a commercial product. Hard to believe it was done by one person in 48 hours!

abeing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03pm

wow, surprisingly awesome game! love the tutorial voice, gameplay and everything XD

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Incredible!

miotatsu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Solid game, well done!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Great mood and level design!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:12am

Very nice. It's really rare and awesome to see an online ladder in a LD game!

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:26am

Definitely achieves that broughlike feel, which I find super impressive for a compo :D

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:47am

nice one! I love the graphics :)

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:59am

Love the art: flickering holograms and distorted voice. Very fun to play as well!

blurryroots says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:37am

Unbelievable you did this in 48h! This visuals are amazing and the mechanics are so well executed and satisfying. But most of all the sound effects, awesome! It is fascinating how you manage to create such tension and atmosphere. Definitely 5 out of 5 in every aspect.

Simon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:25am

Great mood and addictive gameplay. Well done :)

kikito says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:35am

I liked it very much, it was fun. I am not sure I understood the rules well. Sometimes you can get next to ships and you don't get hit, and sometimes you can't. Is it a random chance?

headchant says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:05pm

@kikito: depends on what the ships are up to. example: patrolling ships only attack you if you cross their path

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Very solid game. Only critique would be that the same tech upgrades might appear too often.

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:40am

Nice Brough-inspired game :) ! Very addictive !

allenfreese says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Great game. Well-made arcade feel.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:03pm

I didn't personally care much for the TTS voice, and the fact that she talks a lot in the intro but there's very little text to go with it, and once it's done, you have to wait. It should read one or two lines at a time, and if you skip them, it'll also skip the voice for those lines as well.

The graphics are very nice, and the gameplay is cool, though I found it a little difficult to stay alive for any extended period of time.

Online leaderboard is a good idea too.

Snuux says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Good game!)

kyru says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Simple idea for a game with a lot of potential to be interesting. Very nice tutorial as well.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:13am

This is really quite amazing. My main complaint is that the enemy ships don't stand out enough, but that seems relatively minor. The tutorial section is very welcome. What a fun game.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Brilliant entry. I'm very fond of the Hack-Rogue/Brough Genre and this is spot on.

Managed to find one slight error in the level randomizer though.
It jammed my ship in between 2 asteroids fields making movement (without the teleporter, which I didn't happened to possess) impossible.

headchant says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:48am

@HuvaaKoodia: The problem with the astroid fields is fixed in the post-compo version

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:09am

Good job! I like tiactic element in your game.

Lythom says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Hi there, here's some feedback.

What I liked :
- Tutorial. It is needed, it is done, and it is well done.
- Retro style. Pretty eye agressive but the consistancy is really appreciated.
- Roguelike gameplay. "Ok let's try again ! =D"
- Leaderboard. Definitely help the challenge !

What imo could be improved :
- Graphics. Even with a retro style, it can be improved. The biggest problem I saw is I had trouble distinguish some enemies so I couldn't prepare their behaviour except for the "2 actions points" (which is a great predictable enemy that need actual tactics).
- Sounds. The voice is not easy to understand and only the intro was subtitled. For the tutorial it was barely enough understandable.
- Enemy doing spawnshots in some levels. Getting free shots when you have only one possible move is really frustrating.

I had a real pleasure playing your game, thanks a lot =)

WetDesertRock says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:34am

I'm sorry, I couldn't stand the "voice-acting", if you wanted to get a roboty voice, record yourself and then apply a ring mod.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Awesome gameplay

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]