Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Collective

by Aumni - Jam Entry

Game made in 72 hours by Frank Brizuela and Robinson Farrar.
Music by Jared Burrell - http://jaredburrell.com

The goal is to connect islands, gather people and attempt to make them happier before sending them back into a journey!

Have fun :]

---

HOW TO PLAY:

-You have your Main Player. He can be moved using WASD. This is the guy that can build using your right click to CONNECT your chunk of islands with others to gather people.

-Other people on islands have personality traits. By moving them closer to other people with the same kind of traits, they become happier.
-These people also have abilities to help you survive such as a shield to protect your island (right click), lasers to destroy islands (right click) or an rocket engine to move your island around (right click + WASD).

-To gain points, you must destroy an island (hopefully not occupied by anyone) and DISCONNECT the chunk your Main Player is with others. You gain points if the happiness of the people you disconnected is higher than what they started out with.
-Have fun and try to make a happy colony of people ^_^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.52
#8Innovation(Jam)4.35
#74Overall(Jam)3.78
#107Audio(Jam)3.71
#146Graphics(Jam)4.00
#183Mood(Jam)3.48
#330Fun(Jam)3.12
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Really neat concept! The art style is lovely :)

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Hey this looks interesting. Is there any chance for a linux release?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54pm

a realy nice concept and some nice music.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Very interesting idea! WWould love to see it a little more fleshed out.

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24pm

The music is really sweet. I do like the idea however I struggled with the connecting of islands.

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:29pm

very cool. Probably one of the better takes on the theme I've seen so far. I like the idea of trying to satisfy as many people as possible, but the early game can feel a bit overwhelming, with islands being destroyed very quickly and not giving the player what feels like enough time to think about their options and set people up in preferable scenarios.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19pm

The beginning is too difficult. But the game is good.

bentog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Great take on the theme. For me the islands should go slower so I had time to think, but maybe I'm just not good at it. Lovely!

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Charming.. Brilliant idea and concept. Continue working on it, some arwork, extend options and states and this game ready for publish!

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Charming.. Brilliant idea and concept. Continue working on it, some arwork, extend options and states and this game ready for publish (real publish)!

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Impressive! I like the art.

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Amazing Concept, I love this type of games. :)

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:43pm

The bridges build very slowly for me, but it's definitely worth the wait ^_^
Playing other characters, and using their abilities is really cool!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Pretty cool take on the theme. I liked the graphics and the music matched the mood perfectly. The gameplay itself was a bit difficult to understand at first (I found the actual connecting islands part to be a bit slow) but I did find the whole destroying empty islands to gain points concept to be quite interesting.

KuGrou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Really like the art and concept.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:16am

Really neat idea! The graphics are clean and there's a horrible sense of inevitability as the sky islands come closer... and closer... The melancholy music really helps. I stank at it, though. I had such a hard time just trying to keep my chunk of island from being blown up, and the one time I thought I'd managed to get a group of people disconnected... well, they kersploded along with the piece of rock I'd removed. It's really difficult to snare new islands without building out a lot, and then while your back is turned some cluster you'd been nurturing gets messed up... I realize that it's probably symbolic, but I didn't feel it made for much fun :<

Thank you for the innovative game!

jacklehamster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:52pm

After a few frustrating tries to understand the game without reading instructions, i picked up the concept and the game was quite enjoyable!

puppetmaster says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:55pm

+ art style
+ music
- collision bridge

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]