Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Let's be friends! (But some will die)

by RFMTeam - Jam Entry

Help the little aliens connect their worlds!

Be very careful with the asteroids, they can topple your tower!
but you can destroy them by throwing an alien at them. Yes, being an alien is hard.


Art
Zinkase
Juancho Capic

Animation
Paul Dandrel

Music & Sound
Alessio Mellina

Code
Pere Alsina

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#25Humor(Jam)3.95
#30Audio(Jam)4.05
#37Theme(Jam)4.00
#39Graphics(Jam)4.44
#69Innovation(Jam)3.77
#74Overall(Jam)3.78
#135Fun(Jam)3.52
#159Mood(Jam)3.56

Comments

blurryroots says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24am

Cute and funny, i enjoyed playing it =)

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19am

Very nice game! And very long gameplay (hard as hell xD) ;)

Algerator says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25am

Sooooooo cute! :D

kebabskal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Really sweet and stylish graphics! I had a very tough time accomplishing anything due to terrible mouse lag that appeared after third guy spawned :/
(Chrome on OSX on high end macbook pro)

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:58am

ahhh, was do close and a meteor flew near one of the planets and wiped it :(

nice idea, fun game and gorgeous artstyle.
Great job on the game !

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:44pm

A really funny, innovative and nice game!
Very well done!

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Great graphics !

Altourus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Very difficult but also very original

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Haha that's really cool! SPLAT!

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Loved the sounds they made! It's really fun and difficult!

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Very nicely done! It's really hard but fun :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Love the animations when they blow up hehehehe.

It was quite fun but also very annoying to play, I could never reach far enough as every time I got some length on the tower an asteroid came and destroyed. It's quite challenging even without the asteroids.

Good stuff!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I love the idea, sound and graphics (those little critters are awesome, they look and sound hilarious :D). I'm still trying to link both worlds, maintaining balance is quite challenging.

Great job! It's a pity that I can't vote this time :_S

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Also the whale initially seems like it should act as another asteroid; maybe its color could also be changed to differentiate it.

It's too difficult to position the aliens in the center of the screen, where the gravity shifts. I managed to get pretty close by killing off the useless short aliens and keeping only the tall ones. When I quit the asteroids weren't a problem... but I couldn't prevent my aliens from spinning around and kicking the tower apart.

Also I notice that the aliens survive after destroying an asteroid if the mouse button remains depressed during the maneuver.

orukinawa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I'm not too sure what the goal of the game is but I can live with it :D Really funky game you guys made. Even if I couldn't figure out what to do I had a lot of fun just fooling around with the aliens. The animations and sound effect were a perfect fit :)

parahunter says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21pm

So far the most adorable entry I have played. I could not figure out how to stack the small buggers though but damn they are charming!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:54am

Like its cuteness!

kostka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Awesome game. Great cute graphics, hard but great gameplay, sweet audio.
great job!

JNyknn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Interesting concept and nice graphics.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Probably the best game I've seen so far :D I'll leave it open to play all night :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:01pm

This game is nice a little play with cute visuals and sound effects, like the way you guys integrated the theme of connected worlds while still managing to keep the game fun and humorous.

Pfeyffer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Awesome game idea! Very difficult to play - but fun. Good work.

Akurn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Hahah this is great! And sad astroids are funny

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:35am

Nice game, congrats!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:38am

hahahahahhahhaahhahahahahaaha omg the animation when you fling them to the other planet hahah. This is for reals cute, the art is great! I like how the actual game lines up with the webpage haha. It is hard to stack them, but nonetheless fun.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:43am

Very cute, but even once I managed to learn how to destroy asteroids (charge with one alien at high-speed; they stay alive after that) I couldn't make the tower, all these physics and the spinning are too wobbly. I don't even know what are their collision boxes. >.<

Zathalos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:59am

Wow interesting concept and take on the theme. I feel like if the guys were more "sticky" it would help. Otherwise, it feels like making a tower out of bowling balls. Some few tweaks to make it easier and this could be a really cool game. Good job.

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:05pm

One of the funniest entries I've played. Everything from the graphics to the language that the creatures speak was great, and made the game really fun. Well done!

havana24 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:36pm

AAAH a space-whale! :E
Love the style and the gameplay, great work! :D

Tosic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:39pm

I liked the childish alien sounds and the name of the game is really friendly, I like ti! :D

Retr0spectrum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Very good, but I found it a bit boring, and too difficult.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Cute cute cute and incredibly addictive (and hard).
It's my first vote today and you put me in a good mood :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:36am

Very hard but so cute! I loved all the animations and quirky characters. I felt so bad when one of the poor aliens exploded but it's too funny not to flick a few over there sometimes. I wish they did not twirl around so much when you hold them, but I suppose that just adds to the charm. Great job.

Riley Adams says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Great art! And good use of the theme!

voxel says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:22am

pretty hard to play when the window doesnt fit on the screen properly because you wont let me scroll :(

but a little fiddling and i got it working. Entertaining, if a little brief. Great characters

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]