Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Seeing Double

by bkr - Jam Entry

Here's my game for the 72 hour jam. I originally hoped to get this into the 48 hour compo but I had to work both days at the weekend so that wasn't going to happen; this ended up being more of a 12 hour demo than a 72 hour game but, hey, it was fun to make.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#333Theme(Jam)3.27
#583Fun(Jam)2.67
#644Innovation(Jam)2.47
#663Overall(Jam)2.76
#731Graphics(Jam)2.20
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Gameplay is not that good but, anyway, good job.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Somehow it's very laggy for me, but i like the idea :D

bkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. Yes, the game play is definitely the weak point - given more time I'd have liked to have implemented waves/levels as opposed to just an infinite random stream of enemies (that isn't terribly balanced either).

I don't know off hand what could be causing it to be laggy - what platform are you running on?

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:02pm

No lag for me, the game worked fine. It would be cool to add the controls information directly in game, and also maybe use space instead of ENTER to fire. Finally, if you could add the feature you mentioned above, it would definitely be cool :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Reminded me of my own game somewhat xD I think the controls need tightening up... for instance the enemies shoot way too fast for you to dodge because your ship responds slowly to input... so you need to find a middle ground between enemy bullet speed and your own speed.

I liked the idea though ;) and the sound effects were cute. Graphics could be improved. Good effort and good luck!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:55am

Don't you hate time constraints. You are so close to a good game! The game has potential and the basic setup is solid. I like the overall idea, all it needs is some polish in the feedback department.

Jan Willem Nijman from Vlambeer has some great tips that would are easy to implement in a game like this, worth the watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJdEqssNZ-U

NB, I would play a post-compo version if you made one!

hbocao says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Very challenging game. Maybe the physics need a little rework, as I it was very hard to dodge the enemy shots.

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:45pm

None of the links work for me. They all lead to here: http://b-k-r.co.uk/?=404;http://www.b-k-r.co.uk:80/ld30/seeingdouble.tar.gz&reqp=1&reqr=nzcdYaybpJu6pJ5ypv5jLab=

bkr says ...
Sep 18, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Sorry about the broken links - I've just fixed them.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]