Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fuel Runner

by RobotFriend - Jam Entry

FUEL RUNNER - a 2D platform jumper built using libGDX set in O-O-Outer S-S-Space!

NOTE: The original web version didn't show the background image on some machines/browsers, so try the new one instead. The original can be found here if you're interested: http://www.robotfriendgames.com/fuelrunner_orig/

Let's cut to the chase:
- an astronaut cyclist
- jumping speedily
- on platforms through space
- connecting two worlds
- with toxic fuel strapped to his back
- while trying not to explode!

Instructions:
Space - Jump
Left/Right - Move
R - Reset

Our first EVER LD ... we loved it! We'll post more later...

Thank you!

Art @andrewbarton
Code @teamloomis

PS: Check these dope links...
http://www.robotfriendgames.com
http://twitter.com/robotfriendgamz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#89Humor(Jam)3.41
#136Graphics(Jam)4.04
#186Fun(Jam)3.39
#210Overall(Jam)3.45
#260Theme(Jam)3.43
#309Mood(Jam)3.22
#466Innovation(Jam)2.89
#526Audio(Jam)2.60

Comments

rantt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:53am

Fun game :) The graphics are really nice, and that explosion when you hit something looks awesome. I like the platforms change on replays, keeps it interesting.

oggyiu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02am

this game is fun!

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:03am

The bicycle was pretty hard to control, but then again that might be the point. I liked the way gravity changed as you made your way up/down the level, and the graphics were great.

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04am

Nice graphics, pretty fun.

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

Cool concept and graphical style. Getting to the half-way point was an awesome revelation of how this fits the theme.

On my first attempt, there was a jump I just couldn't make - next try I didn't have that problem, and had a blast.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:09am

Liked it. The gameplay seems heavy and old-school at first but then you start feeling how accurate you have to be to time your jumps on your bike's wheels and its feels good to me. Nice implementation of the theme by the way. Hope you'll polish the game a bit more (like improve walls left/right transitions, add in game instructions, musics, etc.) and release it for real. Good luck with that.

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

It's BEAUJIFUL. Seriously, nice art. Sound effects are fun too.
Simple gameplay, with a nice 'twist'. The death animation made it feel forgiving when you missed a jump.
Good job!

Tritax says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49am

Very fun little game. I really liked the flip at the halfway mark!

riktothepast says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49am

What a great game!, loved the way you used the theme. Congratulations!.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:52am

Pretty fun. Good job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Vertical platformer on a bicycle is awesome.

Rozaxe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Fun game !

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Good work!

Joseph Roque says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

I liked this a lot :) First off, the explosion was brilliant :P The biker and astronaut were very nice as well, good graphics. The sound effects, I enjoyed, background music would have been nice though, it gets a bit repetitive. Very interesting idea with the gravity changing half way through, that was not expected :) Moving from one side of the screen to the other could use some cleaning up, but otherwise, everything seemed to work how it was supposed to.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Fun game!

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Wow that's very good art! I wish I could visit the restaurant at the end of the universe ;(

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54pm

great game, fun to play simple easy controls. I liked the change of physics

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Really cool, didn't know you could HOLD space to jump higher, improved my platforming experience quite a bit after that :P. Nice job!

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Nice looking and interesting idea, my only issue is that the controls are very slippery, and jumping kills your momentum. The random levels can make almost impossible jumps too. Other than that you did good.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Haha, this was a blast to play, and nicely tuned for ramping difficulty! Lots of cute and well done touches, like the adjusting gravity and the death star in space. Nice work!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Haha, I did not expect to go vertical. Guess the astronaut was a rather big clue :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Really like the clean cartoony look of this! Controls felt a bit weird (with the sudden change in horizontal speed when jumping in the first half of the game) but it played fine nonetheless.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:35pm

>_>...... the command to jump is space on the web version, and even if I click on the game first, space still takes me down the page. Wut...

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:37am

Thank you @Rage for letting us know. We put a google form on the page and it broke the space bar function. Fixed now! Thanks again.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:41am

I loved the background art; it enticed me to progress to the end. The explosion was pretty funny as well. The reverse of gravity was pretty awesome. One thing that bugged me was the loss of horizontal momentum on jumping. But add in some music and this would feel like a finished game, nice job!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:46am

Super fun, I had a great time with it and the twist is just so unexpected and innovative. Great entry!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:45am

Cool idea. I liked the half-way point reveal! Some of the jumps were pretty hard, since momentum behaved a little strangely. Good job!

Trilby says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Cool sound effects. Getting to the opposite side of the screen feels dodgy to me.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:31pm

@Tribly - Dodgy? Can you explain this further?

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:56am

very fun with a great graphical style! Great work!

jellonator says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:29am

I like the graphics and the gameplay was pretty good. The sound effects were a little lacking, but seriously, who needs them?

lotusgame says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Fun and well done !!

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:17pm

This was fun to play. :) Cute graphics. The controls were a bit hard to get used to, but nothing too serious.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]