Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Growing star

by Fre - Jam Entry

Expand life on planets before your star explodes.

You need to press "Evacuate" before life goes extinct on all your planets (this ends the game and calculates your score).

You don't have to reach the outermost planet.

Game should take about 10min at normal speed.

*** No input? Switch tabs or minimize/maximize browser ***


--- Revised/Final version - 29/08/2014 ---

- Rebalanced
- Simplified UI & tutorial
- Polished visuals & sound
- Added tiny buildings on planets

*** PLEASE RATE THE ORIGINAL BEFORE YOU PLAY THIS ***

Web
http://florentdhalluin.fr/wp/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/LD30_GrowingStar_Web_1.2.html

Windows
http://florentdhalluin.fr/wp/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/LD30_GrowingStar_Windows_1.2.zip

MacOS
http://florentdhalluin.fr/wp/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/LD30_GrowingStar_MacOS_1.2.app_.zip

Linux
http://florentdhalluin.fr/wp/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/LD30_GrowingStar_Linux_1.2.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#97Innovation(Jam)3.65
#100Mood(Jam)3.74
#133Audio(Jam)3.61
#167Theme(Jam)3.61
#168Overall(Jam)3.55
#279Graphics(Jam)3.61
#459Fun(Jam)2.90
#547Humor(Jam)1.95

Comments

jinxly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Beautiful game, well done!

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Very nicely made game, would be interesting to get deeper in to.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Very beautiful experience. The awesome mood kept me interested through the learning curve. This was the most immersive game I've played yet from this jam. One note, I did have the unity web player crash about 7 minutes into the game. Besides that, I really enjoyed my experience with this game. Thank you!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Preety good game, shaders of the planets trail are very nice.

someone9999 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55pm

That was really unique. Took me a bit to figure out what I should focus on for each planet, but once I did it was a lot of fun.

TinyHat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Awesome game overall, I am really impressed by what you achieved in such a short period of time. I wish there would be even more features!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Nice game.

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59pm

The solar system display is really slick, love it. UI presents a lot of information which is a bit overwhelming at first, but at least the slider controls are pretty simple and easy to grasp. Congrats on a good result!

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Great atmosphere in the game, quite nice and clean graphics as well.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Amazing game. I can see myself playing this for hours.
It is a bit hard to understand the idea at first, but after a while you begin understanding it :)

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:10am

This is a really great entry! I got quite obsessed with it quickly, so I stopped playing to allow myself to come back to it later and check out some other entries!

Some really great touches, music fading out as you zoom the camera gives you the feeling if distance and solitude.

I'll be back to play more, but my first impressions are that it's a great game

Fre says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:51am

Thanks for the feedback!

I am working on a revised version with some UI tweaks, balance changes and little details that were cut from the original plan.

Current progress:
http://florentdhalluin.fr/wp/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/LD30_GrowingStar_Web_1.1.html

sprawl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Thew grahphics and UI were really clean. It takes some time to pick up but otherwise it's a great entry. Good job !

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Ah man! The visuals and music here are so calming. Likely the best space themed game I've seen on here.

moi93101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I just spent one hour on this !

MaesK says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Great game! Sound was excellent, with great mood and relaxing. It is hard to control at the beginning, but it keeps the player engaged. Goal is not completely clear, as evacuation seems like simply fleeing from the galaxy and not fighting for it, so I lost lots of people there trying the impossible :/ An impressive entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]