Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hold Please

by AndyGusto - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Innovation(Jam)4.48
#5Theme(Jam)4.38
#35Overall(Jam)4.00
#76Fun(Jam)3.65
#284Graphics(Jam)3.60
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29pm

I really enjoyed this game. I haven't seen any other phone operator games... ever. Really nailed the experience. I also enjoyed the tutorial was basically the game.

I would have been a terrible phone operator hahaha.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:12pm

The link is no longer working :(

WeaselZone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Very unique and very challenging. I would now love to play something more advanced with sounds and interaction with the callers.

taviandir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Really innovative idea!! While loading the game, I was hoping to hear a voice say it's desired destination call number. With some sounds this game would be even better! Good work! :)

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Fantastic. I wish the game had some sound though, maybe the sound of cables flailing around and a digitized voice actually telling the desired number when you jack in the cable. Would have added to the already brilliant chaos :-)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Thank god I wasn't phone operator, but the game is really good.

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18pm

liked it, fits the theme well :)

SnoutUp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

This was just too much fun after I got a handle on things! And once again it's been proven that my cable management is terrible..

pusheax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Great implementation.

Liz England says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Love it! Once I jumped in, it didn't take long to figure out how to play. This was really cool - looks great, plays well, feels frantic. I would totally play a real-life arcade version of this game.

Jod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Great work on the graphics, beautiful! Some sfx (a 'click' of a pin hitting a slot) would really enhance the experience.

Good stuff!

jwin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Very unique take on the theme, I like it!

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18pm

A very innovative concept, sort of like Papers Please in how it turns a mundane task into something fun. The graphics are very nice but I would have liked some sfx and music. As far as I can tell there's no real way to lose you just don't get any points so there's nothing really motivating the player. Despite this though it's a really good game

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Had really fun playing it! Just audio was missing and i wish it had it. Keep up good work! :)

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:36pm

I always wondered what it would be like to work a switchboard.

Nice touch on the appearance of the hanging gabled.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:54pm

This is so awesome. I wonder if something bigger can be done from this. Mini-storylines from the callers, maybe? Oh, and yeah, sounds!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:16pm

I'm a sucker for modular synthesizers - so this game had me hooked ages ;)

mao says ...
Sep 21, 2014 @ 3:55am

This is addicting! I got a lot faster when I realized that the headphone jack and cable were regular jacks and cables.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]