Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galaxy Train

by biscuitWizard - Jam Entry

You are a train. Do what your train heart has always dreamed of. Blast into space, delivering passengers and solving planetary crises.

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Spacebar - Brakes

Super Secrets:
* Hit enough planets to make your train longer.
* Planets with a yellow ! will offer special BONUS REWARDS.
* There are no bugs, only accidental features.
* Go outside the minimap to return to the hyperspaces!

--------- Lame Developer Stuff ---------
I did all the programming for this project (Except for Fade.js, and Messenger/Callback.cs), as well as the art. Voice overs and music weren't part of the plan, but were brought forth with the assistance of others.

Save file generation used to use Newtonsoft, but then I rolled my own. The code I've written in is C#.

+1 Bonus Points For First Ludum Dare Jam

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Audio(Jam)3.50
#178Theme(Jam)3.59
#202Innovation(Jam)3.38
#238Fun(Jam)3.29
#303Overall(Jam)3.33
#518Graphics(Jam)3.00
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:43am

The controls were a bit gnarly -- didn't feel like I actually had a say in what the train did... also are you supposed to be able to fly into suns like that?

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48am

High score: 1555. Man, this game is hard! I like to think the train is trying to counteract a drunk man at the controls. It's the only thing that can explain how difficult this is to control. Music wasn't too annoying or repetitive, and the voice-over /worked/.

Nitpicks:

- I want to go back to the galaxy map, and I can't figure out how that works. The first time I was pushed back to the map seemingly at random. The second time, I never was. Maybe I failed too hard.
- This train is drunk.

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:55am

The train was really difficult to control! Audio was fairly pleasant, though.

biscuitWizard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:32am

It's a pretty wild train. The physics get ultra gnarly with all those hinges! You can get back to the hyperspace map by pushing outside the solar system boundaries. Editted submission to include that. :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Very interesting graphics. Controls are insane.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:39pm

The control is very difficult and not clear at all what to do

Aevek says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:03am

I found the whole drunken space train thing hilarious and fun to try to control. I would have liked to see boosters on the side of the train, personally. Also it would be nice if the other cars in my train could do the interacting with planets. Also, about colliding with the sun... nevermind. It's better the way it is.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:15am

Great graphics! Cool innovation!

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Great concept, perfect art and sound. I desperately wanted a way to "quiet" the physics on the train cars... it felt like I was riding a bucking bronco, not navigating a vehicle of any known description. :) Still! The idea has merit and except for the controls was executed well. Good jam!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:09am

Very well done with a lot of content... But I also think the control of the train is too hard. At least if we could see where the train "boosters" are it would be better, we would know where the force is being applied. Also, all the train parts should be able to collect passengers, not only the first.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Controls were very strange - not what I expected for a train! - but I think they kind of add to the charm in a way. Audio was great. Great job!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Train was hard to control, but I loved the music, and the art was pretty good! Good job!

Catmoo says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Really fun although I found the controls for the train a little hard to get used to.

But there need to be way more games about trains in space! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]